Posted by: Santa Barbara Dreaming | November 5, 2008

A ‘meh…’ flavor Luna Bar – A review

I think one of my biggest hobbies is trying out new flavors of protein bars / energy bars. I know some people like to read, draw, sing, etc, but I like to eat candy flavored protein bars. Is that lame? haha :) Sometimes I get self conscious that I’m slightly “off”. ;)

Luna Bars aren’t necessarily my favorite out there, (my fave are Promax bars, read about it HERE) but when I saw this flavor, I absolutely had to try it out.

Luna Bar - Chocolate Peppermint Stick

Luna Bar - Chocolate Peppermint Stick

If you know anything about me, its that I am a CHOCOHOLIC. My friends continuously poke fun at me because of this fact… “Keep the bag away from Julia, she’ll eat it all!” (Thanks guys) So a Chocolate Peppermint flavor struck my fancy (I adore those After 8 chocolate mints :) )

I had great expectations, but unfortunately, all I can say is…. meh. The mint candy coating was pretty; white with pink flecks in them. But it did NOT taste good with the brown, crispy, chocolate bar. I think Luna bars taste “chalky,” and kind of “powdery,” and that is not a great texture to pair with a mint candy flavored coating. The mint was really “minty,” and it left that tingly sensation you get after you brush your teeth, along with that “chalky” feeling from the bar. That does not a good combo make.

Also, for 180 calories, it’s not at all filling. It’s so light and airy that I was left needing more food. For just 10 to 20 calories more, I can have a Larabar, which I find more filling and satisfying.

Another thing I don’t get is their claim that it is “70%” organic. Why 70%? Why not 100%? I’m sorry, but I just don’t understand the point of being only “mostly” organic. I mean, I don’t do a 70% workout, or drive a 70% car… you catch my drift right? According to their website, it says, “By using organic ingredients, we’re providing the healthiest products possible,” and that it is better for you, your family, and the environment. Maybe they mean it’s 70% better for you…?  haha ;)

Here is some of the nutritional info: (I DO think this bar is nutritiously sound though, with a good amount of protein, fiber, low in fat, good amount of calcium, iron, folate, and Vitamin C&E)

180 calories, 5 g fat (2.5g saturated fat), 9g protein, 3g fiber, 35% calcium, 30% iron, and 100% folate and VItamins C&E.

Although this was a flavor I did not enjoy, I do like their LEMON ZEST flavor. I just wish they were more filling, and less airy.

But my mission to find yummy protein bars/ energy bars does not stop here! I can’t wait to go back to the store and try another new flavor / brand! It IS a hobby after all….. haha.

Question: Do you have any strange hobbies that you care to share with me? ;) I shared mine!

Responses

  1. I’m not a fan of Luna bars either :-(

    Have you tried Larabars???? I’m OBSESSED with those :-D

  2. sorry you didn’t like the lunabar- a LOT of the flavors are meh. they have almost a chemical aftertaste to them…
    my hobby: shopping :D
    have a great day!

  3. Gina –
    I’m so happy you visited!
    I actually really wished I enjoyed shopping more…. I get so overwhelmed when I walk into a clothing store that I have been wearing gym clothes almost exclusively for like, a year now! haha! I always joke I need a stylist who can go shop for/with me! maybe one day….. :)

    VeggieGirl –
    Thank you so much for hopping over to my blog! :) I have tried Lunabars. Its pretty much an obsession by now, but I used to have to drive to go get some. But now I found they sell it at the store that’s a block away from my house…. this could spell trouble…!! haha :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

