Posted by: Santa Barbara Dreaming | December 5, 2008

My job has perks

My job pretty much has me sitting in a chair all day, but yesterday I got to go on a really fun and exciting assignment. I was contacted by a local restaurant to come check them out to write about them! Clearly, since I am interested in food, any assignment that had me going to go see food was quite the fun adventure!

The restaurant, called Silver Greens, has been a staple in my college town, but now they have opened up another location downtown, near my office. The great thing about Silver Greens is that they offer fresh and healthy sandwiches, soups, and pastas. And you know it’s healthy, becasue the owner prints the nutritional value of your meal on your receipt! How great is that? The system, called Nutricate, customizes how many calories/fats/protein/etc is in your meal, so you know exactly hat you’re eating! The receipt also comes with quick healthy tips and pop quizzes.

Another great perk is that I got to sample a free meal! (yessssss!) I got the Chicken Pesto MBT, which is a sandwich with grilled chicken breast, fresh mozzarella, tomatoes, fresh basil, marinated red bell peppers, and fresh pesto sauce.

Chicken Pesto MBT and fresh fruit salad

Chicken Pesto MBT and fresh fruit salad

Mmmm. It was delicious! The red bell peppers were sweet, and the chicken was moist and juicy. The pesto brought all the flavors together, and the fresh tomato added a nice and refreshing taste. It was very filling too, and my receitp informed me that I had saved 170 calories by choosing this instead of the chocolate chip cookie. Fantastic!

a close up

a close up

I loved how they didn’t skimp on the chicken! Yum. Thanks Jay!

Another really cool part about this new Silver Greens location is that they are the first certified “green” restaurant in Santa Barbara. They have biodegradable bags, some of the interor is made with recycled products, and they use environmentally building codes. Impressive.

I am going to be writing an article about them soon. It was way neat to go on such a fun assignment. I wish I could do this all the time! My dream job is to be like Andrew Zimmern on the Travel Channel, and go around the world going to local restaurants and eating interesting foods. That would be crazy awesome!I wonder what I have to do to get started in a career like that?

Question: What are your dream jobs?

Thursday Workout

  • 8 minute abs with Jamie from yogadownload.com
  • Level 2 30 Day Shred with Jillian Michaels
  • 20+min abs DVD (Workout with Jackie Warner)

I really do think it’s possible to get in a fantabulous workout without even leaving your room. Hopefully, this weekend, I will have time to photograph some cool new at-home exercises for you all! Stay tuned!

I am super stoked itls finally Friday, and almost the weekend. There is going to be some sort of night-time Holiday themed Parade through Downtown Santa Barbara tonight. I heard it’s not really all that worth it. I wonder why they are having a holiday parade already? It’s only the first week in December….. NOt sure what I’m gonna do tonight, but I’ll keep ya updated! Have a lovely one!


Responses

  1. I agree with you very much on the workout thing! I just do videos and walk and I get tons of exercise :)

    That place sounds SOOOO awesome! I want one in Mountain View. Great job perk :)

    I think my dream job is pretty much the same as yours. Or something else related to food/fitness. I’ve been debating becoming a yoga instructor. I haven’t really looked into it enough yet but I think I’d like it a lot.

  2. Faaabulous assignment, indeed!!

    ***My dream job = open up a vegan/gluten-free/soy-free bakery :-)

  3. Oh I miss Silvergreens:) I used to go there all the time when I was at UCSB too!

  4. Wow! What a cool idea that Nutricate!
    My dream is to someday own a Lifestyle Center with my sister. Combining all of our talents and passions: Yoga, health, vegan cooking, and local goodies :)
    Happy FRIDAY!
    -C

  5. Great assignment!!! And so cool that you know what you’re eating from your receipt! :)

    Dream job? I don’t know…. but your dream job sounds really cool!!!!!

    Happy friday~~~

  6. What a fun lunch! I love it when places show their nutritional information – I think it would actually bring more customers in!

  7. i love healthy restaurants!

    My dream job is to be able to blog in my PJs all day. Some day, i hope :)

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.groundedfitness.com


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

