Posted by: Santa Barbara Dreaming | December 9, 2008

My big running challenge

Wow! My Monday FLEW by! But since I still have a bunch of the weekend to go over, I will start with a Sunday recap too. (hopefully I will be all caught up soon!)

Sunday:
James woke up feeling kind of icky. He must be allergic to something because the poor boy was sneezing all day. So we decided to take it easy and enjoy a lazy kind of Sunday. We went grocery shopping in the morning and had quite the fiasco when the paper bad ripped and James dropped a bottle of sparkling apple cider on the floor and it exploded everywhere. Oops! :) We then had a leidurely brekkie of apple fritter, donut holes, coffee, chocolate milk, and yogurt with granola. Healthy, I know :)

Sunday afternoon was a date to Spoon, and ice cream (gelato, to be exact) shop I had been eyeing for a few months now. Somehow, I never really had the chance to go there, so I was stoked to finally check it out!

yummy. I am so happy right now

yummy. I am so happy right now

OMG icecreamgasm. Soooooooo friggin awesome. OMG. mmm!
I had the Tiramisu flavor and the Disaronno Amaretto flavor. The two flavors were amazing on their own, but they were out of control when combined. Heaven. Sooo rich, creamy, indulgent, and decadent. I was surprised at how much FLAVOR they were able to pack into their gelato!

James had the Blood Orange Sorbet and the Raspberry Sorbet.

James with his cone

James with his cone

James’ sorbet flavors were equally amazing as well. I’m usually not the biggest fan or sorbets because they aren’t creamy and indulgent enough, but this was very delicious. It had so much fruity flavor, and a nice, creamy consistency.
And I loved how he got the light sorbets, and I got the super indulgent and rich flavors. ;)

It could be a problem that I live so close to Spoon. I can see myself getting addicted.

Sunday Dinner:
As I said, since we were having a lazy day, dinner was comprised of leftovers and microwavable food. Again, healthy, I know ;) We had some leftover mashed sweet potatoes and salmon. We also made some English muffins with ham and cheese. And my favorite; Japanese Curry Rice!

Curry Rice

Curry Rice

This is comfort food for any Japanese kid. We all grow up eating this stuff. Apparently, it always makes the TOP 3 of kids’ favorite foods in Japan. Japanese curry rice isn’t as hot or as spice-y as Indian or Thai curries. It’s very thick as well, almost like a stew. It usually contains potatoes, onions, carrots, and a protein like chicken or beef. I can’t even count how many times my mom makes this dish in a month! Yumm! But since this was just microwaved and not actually prepared by me, I think I will make Curry Rice soon and post the recipe!

And now for my big running announcement!
On Sunday night, kind of on a whim, I decided to sign up and run a 10 K on January 1st, 2009! This will kick off a year of training for running either a full or half marathon in 2010! My goal is to run the Disney World Marathon with my Dad. My dad is an avid racer, and has run 2 marathons, and countless half ironmans and running races.

I’m really excited about this challenge! I’ve been running for a couple years now, and running a marathon is something I’ve always been interested in. I also wanted a goal to work towards in 2009, and training for a marathon, is going to be the perfect goal. I think it’s going to be tough, and I may want to give up in the middle, but I’m going to see how far I can take my challenge! I hope to be blogging about this too, so please cheer me on! I am telling everyone so that I will be held accountable, and won’t be able to back down!! And since I’ve never posted a photo of my dad before, here it is

My little brother (although hes not so little anymore,) me, my Dad at my graduation

My little brother (although he's not so little anymore,) me, my Dad at my graduation

So there it is. Don’t let me whimp out! :)

Responses

  1. Ice cream & curry = deeeelish.

    FAAAABULOUS new running goal!!! You will ROCK that Disney World Marathon, girl!!! :-)

  2. love the word “icecreamgasm”! so cool!!!!
    glad you enjoyed a lazy sunday with James, I used to enjoy a lot with my angel too.

    so excited that you’ll going to run 10K, that’s unthinkable for me, but I’m sure you’ll do great!

    and thanks for sharing you Dad and little brother’s photo, your Dad looks so energetic and your brother so cute!

  3. Ooo I love Kare. I haven’t made it in a while, I should.

    Bobby likes sorbets too, and I always go for the creamy flavours. It’s not like he’s trying to be healthy either – he just likes sorbets more! I wish I had a Spoon near me. We have this awesome place called Gelayo Gusto though, and it’s probably very similar.

  4. ohh a picture of alex! I haven’t seen him since high school, but I was just speaking to Sean the other day- I’m sure you know him or have at least seen him at ucsb too?

    Good luck with the marathon next year :) That’s really awesome- I was thinking about running one next year during my senior yr. of college as well!

  5. Fun photos!

    I added you to my blogroll– hope that’s okay!

  6. you are sooooo cute in that ice cream picture!!!!!! and that japanese curry is making my mouth water! i loveeeeeeee curries! and i lurrrrrrve japanese food! yum yum yum

    congrats on the big goal! you can do it!! I am so inspired by runners….. mainly because I’m such a wimp when it comes to running!!!

  7. Wow, I feel your pain, they just put a gelato shop in my BUILDING!!!!

    Awesome goal, that’s so incredible ! Excited to see you in action :)

  8. Congrats on your decision to do the 10K and we won’t let you back out. :)

    You know, I haven’t had curry rice in ages. Really love japanese curry but my mum is not a fan. I just got back from a holiday so catching up on your blog. :)


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

