Posted by: Santa Barbara Dreaming | December 10, 2008

Monday / Tuesday Shenanigans

I’ll do a double post to get all caught up!

Monday Workout:

In preparation for my 10 K on New Year’s Day, I decided to hop onto the treadmill to see how far/fast I run. I have never kept track of my speed, time, or distance before, so I wanted to know where I was at. I’ve always just kind of ran “half an hour”, or something totally vague like that, and I have absolutely no idea how far I usually run.
I did a little over 4 miles in 40 minutes.

I could have run faster and longer, but I thought that was a good starting point. The other reason why I didn’t run more was because I was going to do a one hour “Battle of the Bulge” Class right afterward. The class was taught by Jesse, and it was so much fun that the hour flew right by! I thought that we were at the half way point when Jesse said “Now we’re going to stretch, and we’re done after that!” It’s true that time flies when you’re having fun. :)

Oohh also I made one of Gina’s famous B-fast cookies:

b-fast cookie

b-fast cookie

I know it’s not the prettiest of photos, but it was tasty! I used 1/2 cup oats, a spoonful of vanilla protein powder, 1/2 banana, splash of milk, and crunchy PB. I really think the trick is using CRUNCHY PB to change up the texture a bit.
I like this recipe, because it’s very similar to something I’ve been making for a while. Jesse (same guy who taught the class) always eats yogurt and oats with PB. So I’ve been kind of making a similar concoction without flattening it our into a cookie. I’m also a little weird and only like oats when they are UNCOOKED. Cooked=yucky! I think I like it better with vanilla yogurt (esp greek yogurt) than milk. Yum :)

Tuesday:

Tuesday’s random act of fitness: Lugging a 3(?) 5(?) pound bag of ice for a mile. Long story.

Workout:

All was going well until half way through the practice, I had shooting pain in my right hip. :( I have no idea why it started to hurt, but it was so painful I had to stop at 45 minutes. Yikes! I hope this pain is not going to last long! I stretched it out a bit, and just stopped, since I don’t want it to get in the way of running!

Oh and guess what came in my mail!

free sample!

free sample!

I got a free Bear Naked Granola Fruit & Nut Sample in the mail! :) A while ago, I had signed up for a free sample on the website, and it finally came! I’ve signed up for a few of these freebies, and I was impressed because this is the first and only one that has ever come :)

My Review:
Though I was impressed that it came, and I’m so happy I got to try it out, I was not amazed. Sure, it was tasty alright, but it was so normal. It didn’t taste like anything special. Just granola. I don’t think the taste is good enough to justify it’s ridiculous price. A bag of Bear Naked sells for $6.19 around here! I mean, sure, it’s made of natural ingredients, but the granola I make at home is also all natural, and waaaaay cheaper! Also, I don’t really like that it’s 140 calories for a mere 1/4 cup! That’s a TIIIIINNNNYYYY portion size! So although I do enjoy the taste, I don’t think I will buy it, because of it’s outrageous price.
If you want to try a sample yourself, go to their WEBSITE HERE.

So that’s my Monday and Tuesday in a nut shell. I also did some cooking and baking, but since this post is already long enough, I will post them later! :) Hope that everyone is having a fantastic humpday!

Question: ooohh! Did anyone catch Andrew Zimmern’s Bizarre Foods last night? He went to Japan, and I was so excited cause I’ve eaten some of the things from that show! What is a bizzare food item you’ve eaten?

I’ll end with another photo of my lovely smiling face ( :) jk) for my family back in Japan, who I bet are eating bizarre foods as we speak!

birds of paradise in full bloom

birds of paradise in full bloom

Responses

  1. Hooray for yoga, free food samples, and a lovely photo in paradise!! :-)

  2. Awesome workouts! I agree about the portion size/price of bear naked. Good little snackie though. Cute photo by the way! Im a big seaweed fan, I dont think it’s so strange, but my friends do! Losers!

  3. I love those breakfast cookies :) I agree on the bear naked – ridic!

  4. Caroline f – I love seaweed too! And it’s sooo good for you too; it’s full of minerals! I used to just eat sheets of it; and totally grossed out my roomie, haha! :)

  5. you made Gina’s cookie!!! wooo….. I haven’t tried it yet because I like warm breakfast at winter. But I’ll definitely try it soon!

    I received that granola too, as you said, it wasn’t nothing special. Not crunchy enough and too sweet for my taste.

    Love your smile! :D

  6. oh…..which 8 min abs workout did you do from yogadownloadcom? I thought they have only 20 min workouts.

  7. i ditto your review on bar naked I was very dissapointed when i gave it a try a couple of years ago and haven’t gone back to it. I too am half japanese! great to see you incorperating japanese food in your diet any good recipes for new year soup? my mom always makes a batch with mochi and miso!

    http://theplatedecorator.blogspot.com/


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

