Posted by: Santa Barbara Dreaming | September 19, 2008

Running in Downtown Santa Barbara

TGIF everyone! I have been looking forward to Friday since… Monday. Even though it’s not technically the weekend yet, my spirit is already in vacation mode. It makes the day go by so much faster knowing that two days of rest and relaxation are just around the corner.

I went on a run for the first time in a while yesterday. The weather was so nice, sunny and warm that I really wanted to be outside. I mean, when it looks like this,

Clouds over Arlington Theater

Clouds over Arlington Theater

it’s a shame to have to be inside. I was afraid the run might be hard, considering I haven’t jogged in a while, but all the circuit-style interval training I have been doing with Jillian Micheals really paid off. The run felt GREAT.

I also tried a new running style, where I used more of my core and arms to propel myself forward, rather than focusing on my legs to keep me going. I have a tendency to get so focused on my legs that they start to feel like lead. But I tried to stay light on my feet, and let my legs just kind of dangle forward. This style really worked my core, and it made my run easier, even though half of it was on an incline.

While I was running, I was thinking, when you’re in a car, it’s so easy to ignore/forget/not realize the subtle contours of the roads we are on. But when you are running, every little incline/decline can be felt and appreciated. I enjoyed feeling more connected to the earth, and feeling the ups and downs of Santa Barbara. I had driven on the same road a bunch of times without ever realizing it was on an incline. The run was invigorating.

According to mapmyrun.com, I ran 3.3 miles in 30 minutes. Not bad, considering my long hiatus from running, and half of it was on a steady incline. It felt so good. I’m going to try to fit in as many outdoor runs and walks as I can before it starts getting cold and dark.

After my run, I did about 8 minutes of abs, and half an hour of yoga (from a routine in my head.) It felt so nice to do yoga, and really stretch out my tight legs. It helped me not feel sore today. Yay!

And later on, I developed a HEAVENLY recipe for granola, which you can read about in my “throw together recipes” page. It’s scrumptious.

The weekend is just around the corner. I have an exciting weekend planned out: go to the Downtown Farmers Market on Saturday, go shopping in Ventura, (YAY for TARGET!)  hopefully meet up with my friend whom I haven’t seen in a while, do a nice hard workout on Sunday, and try to fit in some cooking. I’m getting so excited!

Responses

  1. What a beautiful picture of the Arlington!


Leave a Reply

Categories

