Posted by: Santa Barbara Dreaming | September 22, 2008

It’s Autumn!

There is a chill in the air. The leaves are turning orange and blanketing the sidewalks. The days are getting shorter, and the nights cooler. When I first moved to Santa Barbara, I thought, “hey, it’s southern california! It’s summer all year round!” and only packed a couple sweatshirts. It was SUCH a surprise to discover that IT GETS COLD here. I had to make an emergency phone call to my mom in Japan and have her send me some jackets and scarves.

Ok ok, it’s not that cold yet, but school is starting/started, and it’s definitely autumn. (I like saying autumn better than fall…. Fall just sounds…sad) Though Summer is definitely my favorite season, there are a bunch of things I like about autumn, such as Halloween, candy corn, Thanksgiving (yummmmm), pulverizing leaves on the sidewalk, Uggs, and….

Absolut scone

Absolut scone

Pumpkin flavored goodies! I absolutely ADORE anything pumpkin. I was so delighted to discover this PUMPKIN SCONE from Starbucks last week. I just had to try it.

WOW. This is the most scone-licious scone ever. Very rich pumpkin flavor with a sweet icing on top. The very best of autumn packed into every morsel. I love the cinnamony flavor and how dense the scone is. I was initially planning on eating half of it and saving some for later, but it was so scone-licious I devoured it all at once. I enjoyed it with their oh-so-creamy PUMPKIN SPICE LATTE. (I’m not kidding you – I get giddy thinking about pumpkin 🙂 ) You’ve got to try this next time you go out for a coffee run. Mmmmm

The scone is probably not the healthiest of snack options. It’s high in calories and fat. (But so delicious it’s worth every bite!) For healthier and more nutritious snack ideas, go to my Nutrition Tid Bits page.

For a yummy pumpkin treat that’s good for you, low calories, and healthy, see my Throw Together Recipes page!

Happy Autumn!

Leave a Reply

Categories

