Posted by: Santa Barbara Dreaming | September 29, 2008

James is the Grill Master

Wow, we barbequed for like, 7 hours yesterday, and went through almost 4 pounds of tri-tip! Pretty neat, huh? James was the grill master all night, and he did such an awesome job, even when it got dark outside and couldn’t see what we were grilling! He had great grilling instincts, and all the food came out perfect.

Our BBQ started at around 1pm-ish, with a veggie platter, chips and dips, wine, and a super ripe Pineapple. We have no idea where the pineapple came from, but it was ripe, juicy, sweet, and tropical. It paired perfectly with the white wine.

Later, I put some pineapple chunks into the wine and let it sit for a while. It was EXTREMELY tastey.

Later, I put some pineapple chunks into the wine and let it sit for a while. It was EXTREMELY tastey.

For round one of the tri-tips, I was in charge of making the marinade. We forgot to pick up a bottle of teriyaki marinade at the store, so I had to come up with an impromptu version. I made a spicy soysauce marinade using:

1/3 cup soysauce
1/4 to 1/3 cup vegetable oil
1 tablespoon crushed garlic
1 dash of dried onion flakes
1 tablespoon Worsteshire sauce
About 2 splashes of white vinegar
1 teaspoon Trader Joe’s hot chili sauce
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1 to 1 1/2 teaspoons honey

I mixed it all together, and it turned out quite well. I would have liked to add more heat to it, so next time I ever make it, I will add some crushed red pepper flakes. I rubbed the tri tip with some crushed garlic, and let it marinade in my sauce for about an hour or so before putting it on the grill.

Tri tip sizzling on the grill

Tri tip sizzling on the grill

I don’t usually like to eat a lot of beef, but this was too good to pass up. The smokey smell of the BBQ, the sizzling marinade, the juicy and tender meat…. mmmmm 🙂 Delicious. Here is the impressive spread of food:

Glorious

Glorious

and here is the grill master himself enjoying the spread with his buddies Bauer and Justin

James, Justin and Bauer enjoying the afternoon

James, Justin and Bauer enjoying the afternoon

All the food was delicious and all, but I just about lost it when James’ housemate Beau and his friend Megan brought this box over.

My treasure chest

My treasure chest

If you know ANYTHING about me, is that I have an insatiable SWEET TOOTH. I am known to eat straight up sugar cubes. I love sweets, cakes, cookies, cream, chocolate, gummies, you name it. So this box of pastries was like finding a treasure chest. It is more glorious than any fancy jewelry box or gem stones. This is the jackpot, my fantasy come to life. I got to try the cookie, the baklava, the tiramisu, and the Oreo brownie. They were all so amazing, and was absolutely DIVINE with my cup of mocha. Aw man, my mouth is watering just thinking about it again. Apparently, these treats are from Gelson’s Market, by Las Positas. I never knew they had such an impressive desserts selection! I am definitely going to have to make a trip out there to get me some more of those tempting treats.

We also went for round two of tri tips, and this one had a BBQ sauce marinade concocted by James. He ended up having to grill this one in the dark, because the sun went down, even though it was only around 7 PM! It’s so crazy how fast the seasons change in Santa Barbara. Just three weeks ago, it was still light out around this time. Winter is quickly approaching. Boo.

James, the Grill Master

James, the Grill Master

This tri-tip came out amazing. The meat was so tender and moist! It was unbelievable. I love BBQ sauce, and so it was a tantalizing treat for my taste buds. Needless to say, this tri tip got gobbled up in no time! Later on, we had some roasted corn and some coffee.

All in all, it was a very successful and scrumptious BBQ. A HUGE THANKS to James for manning the grill all day and putting this day together. Fantastic job, James! 🙂

Responses

  1. Hi Julia –

    Congrats. The blog is coming along well, I like the photos of your exercise demonstrations, glad to see how fit you are.

    But I really like the story of James the BBQ Black Belt and my mouth was watering as I read along. I am also completely addicted to BBQ sauce, and there are so many types and so little time…

    Keep up the great work.

    PF

  2. Man oh man that was some good eating!


Leave a Reply

Categories

