Posted by: Santa Barbara Dreaming | October 9, 2008

It’s a sunny day in Tokyo

SO stoked it was sunny today! I much prefer sunny weather to wet weather. I know some people like the rain, but I’m a sunshine kind of gal through and through.

It was rainy yesterday, but I WAS able to fit in a run when the rain stopped for a while. It was nice to get out there and move my body after 13 hours of flying on an airplane! There was a pleasant smell of wet leaves in the air, and the cool after-rain air felt nice against my skin. I headed out the door with no clear destination in mind, and ended up running about 4 miles, according to mapmyrun.com. I even discovered a new road I’ve never taken before. I think it’s fascinating how I can live in a city all my life and still discover new roads! I ran through a part of town called Omotesando and Aoyama. It was a nice run. Can I just rave about how amazing mapmyrun is? I really wasn’t expecting it to have an accurate map of Tokyo, but it was great! It even had my apartment building on the map! How impressive is that?

Contrary to popular belief, we DO have trees in Tokyo! This is my neighborhood where I started my run

Contrary to popular belief, we DO have trees in Tokyo! This is my neighborhood where I started my run

After the run, my mom and I went to go watch the Sex and the City movie. It was great. I cried, I laughed, and got envious of all the pretty clothes. Before the movie, my mom and I redeemed our free crepe coupons earlier from the Panasonic campaign. I got a crepe with strawberries and cream, and my mom got one with bananas, chocolate and whipped cream. Here I am double fisting crepes:

Mmmm Oishii!

Mmmm Oishii!

This morning, I went to go see an orthopedic doctor because my right wrist and shoulder/neck has been giving me trouble for the past several years. I took an X-ray, and the good news is that my bones are fine, but the bad news is that the only thing I can do is rest it. I’ve BEEN resting it though… and it still hurts…. whatever am I supposed to do?

Later, for lunch, mom and I headed to Shibuya for some lunch and shopping! We went to a Japanese Udon place for Lunch called Mimiu. I had a lunch plate of a bowl of hot udon, a plate of sushi, a plate of tempura, and some little sides. Mom had a bowl of udon with tempura and a bowl of rice. the udon soup had a nice, delicate, slightly salty broth, and the sushi was pretty fresh, and the tempura was nice and crispy. Not bad for a lunch!

Udon Lunch at Mimiu

Udon Lunch at Mimiu

A close up of the sushi:

Sushi plate

Sushi plate

Here’s me eating my plate; I’m holding a crab claw with my chopsticks, and here’s my mom eating her plate:

A feast!

A feast!

Mom and her lunch

Mom and her lunch

We then went shopping for some make up. We are both complete make up novices, and don’t even own foundation or know how to use it. So we went to a make up counter at a department store and got a crash course on how to apply foundation. I was really apprehensive….. I hate feeling like I have paint on my face, so I was unsure how I would feel about wearing foundation. I made my mom be the guinea pig, and had her try on some foundation first. After she reassured me that it felt light, natural, and smooth, I finally agreed to try some on. What a pleasant surprise! It didn’t feel gunky, thick, or gooey at all! AND it made my skin look a lot more even and smooth. Cool! Who knew! I still refused to make a purchase, but I AM considering investing in a bottle. Does anyone have good suggestions?

Now I will leave you with a shot of the Shibuya intersection:

Busy iuntersection

Busy iuntersection

Leave a Reply

Categories

