Posted by: Santa Barbara Dreaming | October 11, 2008

Working out and lunching in Tokyo

What a busy day!

I woke up wanting to go on a run this morning, but it was pouring down rain…! 😦 But not to fret. I got a one day pass at my favorite health club in Tokyo, called Tipness, in Roppongi. They have this cool machine there, where they can measure fairly precisely your body fat percentage, your lean muscle mass, your intracellular water content, extracellular water content, girth, fat in each body part, your metabolism, and put it all on a easy-to-read chart. It’s such a great device; all you do is stand on it, hold onto a metal hand grip, and the computer does the rest of the work. It’s such a great motivator; knowing exactly what each body part needs! As expected, it said my upper body/arms needed more lean body mass and strength. But I don’t know what to do – because of my wrist/shoulder pain, I can’t DO anything! How am I supposed to build strength when it hurts to even do anything, and the Dr. can’t find anything wrong with it?

At least I can run!

I did:
30 minutes of interval running. I run at a moderately fast pace for 10 minutes at a 1% incline. For the next 5 minutes, I increase and decrease the speed every 30 seconds to 60 seconds, making sure I’m sprinting fast! For the next 5 minutes, I slow it down, but walk on the highest incline (usually 15%, depending on the machine), changing the speed every 30 seconds. Then I repeat those two different intervals. This gets me sweating buckets every time, and it’s a great cardio workout.

30 Minutes of abs and back exercises

10 more minutes of light jogging, and 5 minutes walking to cool down.

All in all, a great workout. But I really want to start working on my upper body again! They are getting so weak…

Right after I showered, I went to eat lunch at this SWANKY restaurant In Tokyo Midtown. Midtown is a very recent addition to the Tokyo landscape. It features upscale delis, cafes, restaurants, shops, and boutiques. It’s posh, new, and stylish, but I personally don’t think it’s exciting as Roppongi Hills, and all the food is so ridiculously overpriced, and not THAT much better than food that costs half as much. Except for today’s lunch. Mom and I got invited to lunch at Union Square Tokyo, by Tami and her family. The place was elegant, and very up-scale New York style. The menu was expensive, but very delicious. They had a fairly straightforward menu, but the food was prepared impecably, with high quality ingredients, and a great presentation. Here’s my salad with apple, pancetta, walnuts, apple, arugula, and red cabbage;

Such a fancy salad!

Such a fancy salad!

It had a delicate, light vinaigrette, and it went so well with the bacon pieces. The pomegranate pieces were a perfect, juicy addition. Loved it. The hamburger was also very delicious. Even though I don’t like beef, it was such a gorgeous, thick burger I just HAD to try some. Wow. Pretty awesome stuff!

One of the most juicy burgers Ive ever had!

One of the most juicy burgers I've ever had!

The French fries weren’t bad either! πŸ™‚ Here is the lunch crew:

What a beautiful display

What a beautiful display

And of course, don’t forget the dessert! I didn’t order one, but I got to nibble on this amazing Yuzu Cheesecake with Lemon jelly and Yuzu cream. Oh boy. It was decadent, yet tart from the yuzu. The acidity of the Yuzu cuts down on the sugary sweetness, and the lemon jelly provides a nice, cool treat for the mouth. And will you just look at how gorgeous it is? How could anyone resist?

Beautiful and Gorgeous. aka simply irresistable

Beautiful and Gorgeous. aka simply irresistable

It was such a fancy lunch. Thank you SOOO much Tami, for a fantastic lunch! It’s definitely one of the highlights of my trip!

Here is a shot of the interior of Midtown; gorgeous bamboo shoots line a bridge over an indoor pond. Very modern Japanese.

Indoor pond

Indoor 'pond'

Here are the ‘kids’ from the lunch crew; me, Bruno, Gen, and Chie. Wow. How small do I look compared to these tall guys? haha

Lunch Crew

Lunch Crew

Leave a Reply

Categories

