Posted by: Santa Barbara Dreaming | October 20, 2008

My Cousin Miwa’s Wedding

My cousin’s wedding was on October 13th. I got up, ate one of my uncle’s delicious breads, and got dressed up! We drove to the hotel where the reception was going to be held, and took a photo next to my car.

Posing next to my bad-ass Bentley

Posing next to my bad-ass Bentley

Aaaahhh hahaha I’m totally just kidding! I WISH this were my car though. That would be pimp! It’s actually the car the bride and groom rode in after the wedding.

Another great part of the trip was that I got to meet my other cousin’s son for the first time! Since I’m harldy ever in Japan anymore, I had not had a chance to meet him till now. His name is Hiryu, which means flying dragon. Pretty baller!

My cousin Jun and his son Hiryu

My cousin Jun and his son Hiryu

Hiryu spiked up his hair and had red in it to look like his favorite super hero! (He’s 3. How cute)

And the actual wedding at the Chapel by Suwa Lake. It was a gorgeous day, perfect for a wedding!

The bride and groom looking so happy

The bride and groom looking so happy

And she did a really cool bouquet toss that I have never seen before. Her bouquet was enclosed in a balloon! How nifty.

After the actual wedding was the reception, complete with like, an eight-course meal. Our first dish; whole shrimp! It was slightly salted and roasted; super fresh and scrumptious.We also got Japanese style lanterns with our names on it instead of name cards. Very creative.

Hello shrimp. Now get in my belly

Hello shrimp. Now get in my belly

Second course was some melt-in-your-mouth sashimi.

Really good sashimi should taste sweet

Really good sashimi should taste sweet

And then the bride and groom did a costume change, and changed into traditional Japanese wedding attire. I thought it looked beautiful.

Glamorous kimono style

Glamorous kimono style

And then we had abalone. I’ve never had abalone before…. can’t say that I love it. It’s kind of tough to chew, has a squishy texture, and was drenched in this thick, salty sauce. Not something I would want to have again, but I always want to try a food at least twice before I make a final judgement. 🙂

thats my grandma in the background

that's my grandma in the background

This was followed by some steak, some shrimp in chili sauce, some crab soup, some sushi, two types of desserts, and some more food. Wow. You can bet I felt stuffed! The reception was also great, with some more speeches, photo slideshows, a breakdance performance by the groom’s friends, videos made by the bride and groom’s friends, and cake cutting, etc.

After the reception, we went to an after-reception reception at a hotel where they have an Onsen (hot springs). After a whole day of eating, it was nice to soak in the hot bath and sweat a little bit. Of course, after the bath was more food.

Heres a cool looking sashii boat

Here's a cool looking sashii boat

At the hotel lobby, they had this cool display of real, authentic SAMURAI gear. Samurais have such a bad-ass reputation, but in reality, they were all very short! I think the average height was below 5’4 or something. Look at how much taller I am; remember that the samurai display is not on ground level (it’s raised) and I’m just 5’7.

Im taller than samurai

I'm taller than samurai

It was a long and eventful day. After we got back home, I just passed out. But congratulations to my cousin Miwa!

Leave a Reply

Categories

