Posted by: Santa Barbara Dreaming | October 21, 2008

Santa Barbara Farmers Market, Reunion, and Pumpkin Patch!

On Sunday, I hit up the Goleta Farmer’s Market at Camino Real Center to buy some fresh fruit. This Farmer’s Market isn’t as big as the Downtown ones on Tuesdays and Saturdays, but I was in Goleta, so I went. I was kind of sad that the fruit wasn’t as ripe and as abundant as they were in the last few weeks. It IS getting cold, and it IS autumn, I suppose. Still, the ripe fruit I get at Farmer’s Markets are my absolute favorite things in the world, so I can’t hide that I was kind of disappointed. 

However, check out this cool display of juicy looking pretty berries!

 

Impressive display. Note the checkerboard pattern! Fancy

Impressive display. Note the checkerboard pattern! Fancy

And they had very lovely looking flowers, and I was so happy when James chose for me and got me a very fragrant and beautiful bunch of fresh flowers!

 

Thanks James!

Thanks James!

I ended up buying a stalk of broccoli, (only 1 dollar!) some plums, a persimmon, and the lovely flowers. 

 

Farmers Market Bounty

Farmer's Market Bounty

After the market, James and I met up with some my of my ABSOLUTE BESTIES in the world! The wonderful Ms. Dizzle, and her man Darren, and the glorious Ms. Rachel! We met up at Woody’s BBQ at the Magnolia Center for lunch. I haven’t seen Dizzle for a while, and haven’t seen Rachel in about two weeks, so it was so much fun to have a little reunion! I’m SO stoked that Rachel is moving back into town, and we can have shopping and baking parties together! 🙂 and Dizzle isn’t so far away either. We MUST hang out OFTEN!!!!!!

At Woody’s I had some of James’ Bullwhacker Sandwich. It’s a tri tip sammie, and it was very meaty! I thought it was pretty, good, but you know my deal about beef. BUT, they came with these AHHHHMAZING fries! I don’t know what was so delicious about them, but they were out of this world! They were seasoned perfectly, and had that super yummy, crunchy texture. I couldn’t stop munching on them! And they went so well with their homemade BBQ sauce. 

 

whack that bull.....

whack that bull.....

and with two of my favorite girls

 

We need to make this a regular occurence

We need to make this a regular occurence

 

 

After the fun reunion, I got to go to a Pumpkin Patch! 

Now for all you Americans, this may not be such an exciting event. However, coming from Japan, I had NEVER been to a pumpkin patch! So when I saw a pumpkin patch at Lane Farm on Hollister Avenue (between the Magnolia Center and Turnpike), I begged James to come with me! Oh how much fun! It was a field full of various shapes and sizes of pumpkins. They even had a maze made of corn stalks (it was a DIFFICULT maze. Do not be fooled! 🙂 ) tractors, turkeys (I’ve never seen a turkey before either!) goats, and a tractor ride. How so all American!

 

lots of big orange pumpkins

lots of big orange pumpkins

 

Colorful autumn veggies

Colorful autumn veggies

and here I am lost in a sea of pumpkins

 

Have you ever seen so many pumpkins?

Have you ever seen so many pumpkins?

 

 

 

and the maze made of corn stalks. I think this photo is funny, because it looks like it could be a farm from anywhere in USA, but you look in the background and see a palm tree, and get reminded that yes, you are in Southern California!

 

Yes this is CA

Yes this is CA

 

 

 

This pumpkin patch is open till October 31st, so I recommend you go and check it out. It will be perfect for Halloween that is quickly approaching. You will be able to see this pumpkin patch if you drive down Hollister Avenue. Again, it’s in between Magnolia Center and Turnpike.

Responses

  1. um… first of all I adore you. Second, the secret to cornmazes is to keep your left hand against the left wall. You will 100% guaranteed make it out in a timely fashion if you do. We have one in Petaluma.

  2. Really? That method works? James and I were stuck in there, scratching our heads, and the guy who was picking corn from the cornmaze (guess he works there) told us a little secret about how to get out. I think I now need to go back there and try your method out! 🙂 Love you!


Leave a Reply

Categories

