Posted by: Santa Barbara Dreaming | October 23, 2008

Great Online Yoga Classes

Man, every time I practice yoga, I seriously feel a thousand times better, and makes me want to practice more and more and more of it! But since I don’t have access to a gym with yoga classes, or a membership to yoga studios anymore, I have been having some serious withdrawals. 😦 But thanks to blogger extraordinaire Jenna from Eat, Live, Run, I discovered something that could fix my yoga deprivations!

Thanks to this wonderful website, YogaDownload.com, I think I am now able to get yoga classes wherever and whenever I want! This site is chock-full of yoga classes of different lengths, intensity, styles, and instructors you can download onto your computer, and use anytime, anywhere! AND I think they are priced VERY reasonably. I won’t be needing to buy any more yoga DVDs!

I downloaded a 60 minute power yoga class called Core Yoga #1 (Level 4, Advanced Intermediate) from instructor Dawnelle.

Instructor Dawnelle. Photo from yogadownload.com

Instructor Dawnelle. Photo from yogadownload.com. Thanks for kicking my butt!.... er my abs!

This class offers a 20 min, 30 min, 45 min, and 60 min versions, and I chose the hour long one. I’m so glad I did, because I LOVED this class! Because I purchased the Audio with Slideshow version, I was able to see photos of the poses as Dawnelle talked us through the class. (Seeing the poses on my computer screen helped. You can buy an audio only version, but I’m a visual person and I need to see things to understand)

According to yogadownload.com, “These Core Yoga classes are power yoga with a kick. You will be lead through a flow that incorporates lots of poses designed to strengthen the core. The class is balanced with poses that will lengthen the core muscles as well, creating long and lean abs that will stabilize and power you through everything you do.”

And wow, did my abs feel this class! The many repetitions of chaturanga to upward dog to downward dog challenged my core muscles and shoulder muscles. And the boat pose, and the pulses we did in the boat pose made be abs vibrate, tremble, and BURN!

Boat pose. Photo by David Martinez from YogaJournal.com

Boat pose. Photo by David Martinez from YogaJournal.com

We also did many torso twists, and Dawnelle kept reminding us that it was going to do wonders for our obliques. We also did your pretty standard standing poses, like the Warrior poses. I also learned new poses like the Dolphin pose. The hour long class made me sweat (I love challenging yoga classes!) made my muscles burn, but relaxed me at the same time. Wow. I practiced in my Lululemon shirt which kept me dry, and Lululemon Slipless Headband that kept my hair out of my face. This headband has a plastic/rubber (?) lining so it stays PUT in your hair, and doesn’t shift around that much. It did get kind of out-of-place in the upside down poses, but it did a much better job than my regular headbands.

But the true effects of the class  were not felt until the next day. I was SORE! (but in the greatest way possible) The muscles that usually get sore from traditional exercises (like squats, lunges) weren’t sore, but my innermost hamstring muscles were sore. I’ve never even felt sore there before! Also, my obliques are sore, and they already feel tighter! Also my inner shoulders are sore from all the upward and backward dogs we did. I feel like I’m getting stronger and tighter from the inside out! Wow. This class is definitely one of my new favorites, and I can’t wait to try more classes from yogadownload.com very soon! 🙂

To read about the physical benefits of yoga, go to my Fitness Tid Bits Page.

What are your favorite yoga poses/yoga classes?

Responses

  1. […] was an OK run. My hamstrings were SO sore from that GREAT yogadownload.com class (read about it here) so it made it more challenging to get into a smooth rhythm. And my lungs were not really […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

