Posted by: Santa Barbara Dreaming | October 29, 2008

What a GREAT run!

I had such a great run yesterday evening! SUCH an improvement from last week when I had to battle through my runs. I don’t know what it was…. but I was able to run a longer distance in a shorter amount of time!

It felt so great; out on More Mesa, the sun was just getting ready to set, the temperature was just right, I had my favorite running sweatshirt on, and the music was pumping. I felt so strong, powerful and fast, and had a blast! I just LOVE it when runs feel this good. It’s runs like this one I live for! 🙂

)

this is how I feel after a good run 🙂

Maybe it was the fact that I had new music to listen to. I just downloaded three new songs:

Mercy by Duffy
Pride and Joy by Stevie Ray Vaughn
Disturbia by Rihanna

Kind of a random mix, but it was great motivation to run! Don’t you think that the right music can make your run THAT much better? What are your favorite songs to run to?

I also broke my run into two halves. After each half, I did a little bit of lower body toning exercises. I did:

10 squats and 20 squat pulses (X2)
10 Sumo squats 10 sumo squat pulses 10 second squat (X2)
10 second single leg “T” yoga move (10 seconds on each leg)
10 lunge pulses on each leg
some stretches

This way, I can fit in strength training and running all at the same time 🙂 Ahh, it was such a fun run 🙂

Also, I think it helped that I was looking forward to an early Halloween costume bowling party late on that night. I will post those funny pictures as soon as I upload my photos onto my computer.

Do you know what you’re being for Halloween yet?

Responses

  1. Yay for great runs! I had less than stellar ones recently but absolutely love those days when I can run forever.

    Ironically I don’t use my ipod to run these days as the dangling strings irritate me and I’m surprised that I don’t need music. Will see how long it lasts.

    My ipod list is a weird mish-mash of bossanova, hip hop, kylie, madonna, japanese, jazz and chinese pop. I don’t do country though.

  2. Oh my gosh! I know what you mean about the iPod headphone strings! Sometimes they can annoy me to no end!

    I have started to run without music too. It’s actually quite nice to listen to my own breath…. but sometimes I like the music extra loud for some extra energy.
    I agree with you… can’t run on country!


Leave a Reply

Categories

