Posted by: Santa Barbara Dreaming | October 31, 2008

Yoga + Japanese Food = Great Night

Boo!

Happy Halloween!

Last night was another great, invigorating yoga class from yogadownload.com. (Thank you Jenna for introducing me to this!!! πŸ™‚ ) I did Power Vinyasa Flow #1 with Dawnelle, and 8 minute abs #1 with Jamie. I did the abs class twice for a total of 16 minutes. The 8 min class was just ok…. I just don’t think you can do much in 8 min, but when I did it twice, I really felt my abs doing their thang. The Vinyasa flow class was a lot of warrior poses, and a lot of hip opening poses, and a lot of time going into chaturanga, upward dog and downward dog. The combination of 16 min abs and the hour long Vinyasa Flow class worked up a good sweat, and it really opened up my hips. I sit a lot for my job, so it’s great to take the time in the evening to stretch out my poor hips, and stretch out my shoulders that are usually hunched over the keyboard. This yoga sequence is really strengthening my shoulders and core. Love it! πŸ™‚

Onto Japanese food: Have you seen those SUPER tacky commercials that say “What is yakisoba?” And this ultra perky American family is microwaving and eating this nasty looking plate of noodles? It’s for Maruchan Noodles (oh and it pisses me off; they don’t even pronounce it right!) 😦 . Well, that commercial kind of ticks me off, because YAKISOBA (yaki=fried, soba=noodles) is a fantastic Japanese food, commonly eaten at festivals, street fairs, and big gatherings (it’s easy to make in large quantities). It’s a no-frills type of meal locals eat. It’s not quite restaurant food, but what real Japanese people eat. I have a special fondness for it, and it looked so gross all microwaved in the commercial, so I decided to make my own!

Yakisoba:
serves 1-2

1 packet YAKISOBA noodles pack with the flavoring it comes with
1/2 cup bean sprouts
5 Shiitake mushrooms
1 tbsp sesame oil
1/4 cup water (more or less)
salt and pepper
6 oz precooked chicken
Tonkatsu Sauce

1. Heat sesame oil in skillet over medium heat. Add chicken and bean sprouts until they are heated through. Add mushrooms and heat until mushrooms become soft and bean spouts just start to become tender crisp.
2. Make an open circle in the skillet by pushing the veggies and chicken into a ring. Add the noodles to the middle. If the noodles are all stuck together, use your fork or spatula to untangle them.
3. When the noodles are adequately untangles, add the water. This will make the noodles softer. Stir. Add seasoning packet. Stir everything together. Season with salt and pepper. Add more tonkatsu sauce if you like.

In photos:

Done!

Done!

And THAT is yakisoba. I know it just looks like a plate of brown noodles…. I didn’t know how to make a plate of brown shiny noodles look pretty….

But this is a super yummy, easy, and filling meal. So fast, and very healthy too. There is hardly any oil used! You can make yakisoba by adding cabbage, ultra thin pork slices, pickled red ginger shreds (beni-shoga), shredded carrots, or anything really. But those are the ingredients most commonly associated with yakisoba.

Yakisoba is sold at my local chain grocery stores like Albertsons and Vons. It’s either where they sell veggies or where they sell tofu, in the refrigerated section. I suggest you try it out once!

Are there any tacky commercials that annoy you?

Leave a Reply

Categories

