Posted by: Santa Barbara Dreaming | November 1, 2008

Friday Workout – Jillian Michaels is my trainer!

Ugh! I absolutely love Halloween, but it’s BAD NEWS for a gal like me with a killer sweet tooth. The office decided to have a candy bowl this morning, and I’ve had at least 15 fun size Snickers, Twix, M&Ms, and Laffy Taffys. Ugggghh… talk about sugar high!

But not to fret! I worked out HARD to compensate!

I did:

8 min abs from yogadownload.com twice (16 min)

Level 3 of Jillian Michaels’ 30 Day Shred 

Level 2 of above DVD.

Bully; Jillian Michaels. Photo from JillianMichaels.com

Bully; Jillian Michaels. Photo from JillianMichaels.com

As I’ve said before, Jillian makes me sweat and work like none other. This particular DVD is my FAVORITE at-home exercise DVD. The three 20-minute sections can be done one at a time, or in combination with one another for a fat burning routine. I find that mentally, 20 minutes is easy to handle. So even if I do 2 levels together, each one is only twenty minutes, so it’s easy to motivate myself to do it.

I find that if my workouts are broken down into discreet segments, it’s less daunting. And when it’s less daunting, it’s easier for my brain to be like, “yeah! I can handle this! 20 min? Piece of cake!” So my workout today was broken down into 3 20-minutes-ish segments with a couple minutes of rest in between. This works for me.  

So now I think I’m gonna go have some more candy…. ! haha, I’m totally NOT kidding! I mean, it IS Halloween! 🙂

Question: What tactics do YOU use to make your workouts less daunting? 

Responses

  1. Haha, like you I have a major sweet tooth and I blame that on my mum.

    To answer your question, I visualise my post-workout meal to motivate me. Most of the time I have my favourite post-workout meal after weights.

    It’s actually a popular local breakfast/tea-time snack which consists of 2 soft-boiled eggs eaten with with soy sauce and pepper, 2 slices of toasted bread with kaya ( a rich coconut egg pandan jam) and a cup of tea with condensed milk. I figure that I need all that sugar to balance my low blood sugar level after weights. lol

  2. Haha! I like the image of trying to run while imagining some soft boiled eggs! Thanks so much for sharing your tactics! I think I will think about a piece of chocolate fudge next time I work out 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

