Posted by: Santa Barbara Dreaming | November 2, 2008

Saturday Recap – farmer’s market, walk, dinner review

Saturday was such an eventful day. I love being so productive over the weekend. I love being lazy and doing absolutely nothing too, but being out and about can be a lot of fun too 🙂

The day started off with a trip to my favorite coffee joint downtown, called Coffee Cat. I got the Pumpkin Spice Latte. It was a darned good cup of joe, but didn’t taste ANYTHING remotely close to pumpkin spice. Not complaining though, cause it still tasted amazing. And I’m very excited, because I am 1 coffee away from getting my free one! Yesssss!

Coffee in hand, James, Luke and I walked around downtown SB, past the court house. Now, the SB courthouse is a stunning piece of architecture. I’ve heard numerous people claim its one of the most photographed buildings in either SB or all of America. I don’t know if either of those claims are true, but it sure is pretty. 

 

It would have been prettier on a sunnier day

It would have been prettier on a sunnier day

We made our way down to Our Daily Bread, which is my favorite bakery in SB so far. And it was open today, yay! James and I split the Turkey Bacon and Egg Croissant, and a Cheese Focaccia. The Turkey Bacon and Egg Croissant is ONE OF THE BEST THINGS EVER! It’s unbelievable good! The croissant is so fresh, flakey, and BUTTERY. The filling has Turkey bacon, egg, and celery in it, and it just melts in your mouth along with the croissant. It’s very satisfying, and it fills you up! I dream of this croissant every weekend. SO good.

The focaccia was great as well, though I would rather eat it at dinner or with lunch instead of on its own for breakfast. The cheese crust was so good! You can never go wrong with burnt cheese 🙂 It was thick, but soft, and they did a very good job highlighting the flavor of the cheese. It had some goat cheese pieces throughout the dough, and it was nice to get a cheesy surprise every once in a while.

 

coffee and good Saturday morning reads

coffee and good Saturday morning reads

 

cheese focaccia

cheese focaccia

 

turkey bacon egg croissant time two

turkey bacon egg croissant time two

 After all this great food, we made our way down to the Sat. morning Farmer’s Market. It wasn’t as vibrant as it used to be in the summer, and the fruit is no longer as bountiful, but they did have a decent variety of autumn produce. I saw this funky looking squash:

 

carnival squash

carnival squash

It looks like a double decker squash, and is aptly named Carnival Squash. I have no idea what it tastes like, or how to use it, but its fun to look at.

This grape juice from Mill Orchard is the best/sweetest ever.

 

grape juice

grape juice

And I just loved this display; so green and vibrant and healthy looking!

 

lots and lots of peppers

lots and lots of peppers

Saturday Workout:

Saturday exercise consisted of about an hour of leisurely strolling through downtown, and an hour of active fast walking through the More Mesa.

Saturday Dinner:

Dinner consisted of Woody’s BBQ. I got the Light Spare Ribs with fries and a salad. But don’t get me wrong; there is nothing LIGHT about it!

 

Get in my belly!

Get in my belly!

 

salad

salad

 

 

My philosophy is; if you’re going to a BBQ place you love, instead of restricting yourself and only getting a salad or baked chicken and feeling like you’re missing out, order what you LOVE, and let yourself savor each bite of it. Let yourself enjoy the foods you love. What you can do is get a box, and put half of the meat and fries away BEFORE you start eating to save for another day. Load up on veggies from the salad, and really savor the ribs and fries. This way, you feel mentally and emotionally satisfied, without doing too much harm to your overall healthy diet. 

My ribs were excellent. Juicy, tender, and smothered in sauce. I got such a large chunk of meat, even though I got the ‘light’ version. The sauce is great; has just the right amount of smokiness along with sweetness and tanginess. I got some extra sauce to dunk my ribs in. Yum.  The fries were crispy and hot, just the way I like em. The salad bar had a wide range of veggies and salad dressing to choose from. 

 

Luke got chili fries which he was nice enough to share with us;

 

chili fries

chili fries

These fries spell TROUBLE! They are so friggin good! The chili was hearty, and definitely tastes homemade. I love it when chili has kidney beans in it, and is thick, not soupy. The chili was not too spicy, but had enough flavor to make your mouth say WOW! The thick chili, smothered with melted cheese made the perfect topping for the crispy fries. The combination of the crispy fries along with the hearty, soft chili in my mouth was too much for me to handle! 🙂 All three of us could not get enough of it!

Though we were sufficiently FULL from the wonderful dinner, as always, there was room left for dessert. We picked up some Ben and Jerry’s ONE Cheesecake Brownie pint.

Orgasmic.

Nuff said.

While at the store, look what James found;

 

No thanks

No thanks

A wiener wrapped in a blueberry pancake and shoved onto a stick.

Look like something YOU want for brekkie????

(We’ll pass, thanks, haha)

 I hope everyone is enjoying their weekend!

Responses

  1. I just found your blog from a comment on KathEats. I love your food philosophy and your beautiful pictures of California. That Famer’s Market is so pretty. Oh and that pancake sausage is truly odd/disgusting! Anyway, just wanted to say hi – be back soon.

  2. Hi Heather,
    thanks for visiting my blog! I love going to the farmers market, just for all the pretty colors and funky foods 🙂 well, maybe not as funky as pancake sausage on a stick, but…. haha! hope to ‘see’ you around 🙂


Leave a Reply

Categories

