Posted by: Santa Barbara Dreaming | November 4, 2008

My favorite protein bar

I really really do have an uncontrolable sweet tooth. My grandpa on my mom’s side and my grandma on my dad’s side are both notorious for their love of sugar, so it’s in my genes. My body craves sweets!

What does this have to do with protein bars, you say? Well, I love candy, and chocolates, and sweets, but I can’t eat Hershey’s bars all day long! (boo…..) So, I like protein bars that can deliver not only protein, but good nutrition, along with a nice fix for my cravings.

After extensive trial and error, I have found my favorite brand of protein bars, recommended to me by personal trainer Macie.

PROMAX BARS:

Promax Bars; Double Fudge Brownie and Cookies 'n Cream

These Promax bars are by FAR the best tasting bars out there! There is absolutely NONE of that nasty, chalky texture that many other protein bars tend to have. The taste is just like an actual candy bar, but has very good nutritional values.

Nutrition: Each bar is between 270 and 300 calories (depending on the flavor). Each bar delivers 20 grams of protein, along with calcium, vitamins A and C, and 18 minerals, vitamins, and antioxidants. This makes for an excellent pre-workout snack, or a post-workout snack to replenish your lost glycogen stores. The bars are also made of all natural ingredients, and are certified Kosher.

Taste: By far, the best part about these bars is the excellent taste. It doesn’t taste like what you would expect a protein bar/ energy bar to taste. It has a nice, filling consistency without being chalky. It doesn’t have that ‘powdery’ feeling or taste, nor that weird aftertaste. It simply tastes like a yummy candy bar. There are many great flavors to choose from, and I have tried four of them. Here is my ranking in terms of taste:

1. Nutty Butter Crisp
2. Chocolate Peanut Crunch
3. Double Fudge Brownie
3. Cookies ‘n Cream.

Promax bars; Nutty Butter Crisp and Chocolate Peanut Crunch

Promax bars; Nutty Butter Crisp and Chocolate Peanut Crunch

The Nutty Butter Crisp is fantastic! It’s a pretty big bar, so I eat half of it before my workout, and the other half after my workout. It has a very nice peanut butter flavor, and it’s definitely satisfying. I find that Luna bars are too light and crispy, and they don’t fill me up enough. But the Promax bars are dense, so they “stick to your ribs” more, if you will.

I wasn’t such a huge fan of Cookies ‘n Cream, but the Double Fudge Brownie flavor was also tastey. It tastes like a nice, rich, dense piece of brownie. It has that chocolate taste I love, AND the nutrition I need before and after a workout. I don’t like working out with a whoe meal in my belly, but find that I need the energy. These bars provide great taste and enegy for me to power through my workouts.

The flavors that I really want to try next are the Honey Peanut and Chocolate Mint flavors.

Question: Have YOU tried a Promax bar, and if so, what did you think of them?

OR, what is YOUR favorite protein/energy bar in terms of flavor?

Do you have any yummy ones that you would recommend I try out?


Responses

  1. I love promax! those are my favorite! I dont eat many bars, they never really fill me up, but i love those kind.

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.groundedfitness.com

  2. It’s interesting how you mentioned promax bars. My gym sells them and I have not tried them yet.

    Currently I’m trying to stay away from processed foods so not eating bars at the moment. I agree that luna bars are not filling at all. The only ones I eat at the moment are my emergency kashi bars that are kept in my bag.

  3. Hi Kelly!
    Thanks for visiting my blog! Yay for another Promax bar fan 🙂

    Alicia,
    I admire you for staying away from processed foods! I’ve made many an attempt to ‘stay away’, but can never make it for more than 5 hours…. where are you willpower???? hahaha

  4. I LOVE THE PROMAX

    but please to note I adore anything sweet.

    seriously.

  5. Hi Miz Fit,
    I’m so excited to ‘meet’ a fellow sweet tooth! 🙂 Thanks for visiting!

  6. […] Bars aren’t necessarily my favorite out there, (my fave are Promax bars, read about it HERE) but when I saw this flavor, I absolutely had to try it out. Luna Bar – Chocolate Peppermint […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

