Posted by: Santa Barbara Dreaming | November 4, 2008

VID – Very Important Day

PLEASE GO VOTE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Thank you.
I voted, and got my free Voter’s cup of coffee at Starbucks, and I think I am going to go to Ben and Jerry’s later on for my free scoop of ice cream!!!

Onto food:
Last night was another one of my Global Vegetarian Cuisine class. I have so much fun in these classes! It’s so casual, the food is great, I learn new things, it’s cheap, and I’ve made new pals. Yay!

Here was last night’s menu:
Red “Chicken” Posole
Baked Flan
Red, White and Green Salad
Agua de Jamaica
(prnounced Hama-ee-ka)
Panela Cheese with toast

Last night was another night of new foods for me. We made this extremely delicious salad called the Red, White and Green Salad, and it had BEETS and JICAMA in it. They are both new foods for me.

Red, White and Green Salad

Red, White and Green Salad

The reason I’ve never tried beets is because I thought they were the same thing as Radishes…!!! How could I be so silly?????? I don’t like radishes at all, and since radishes and beets look similar, I just thought they were the same thing, and that I didn’t like both of them. Gah! I’m so glad I discovered my mistake, because the beets were yummy!

Jicamas – Woah. Totally delish. They look like potatoes, but taste like a pear/apple/water chestnuts/something else. Here is some nutritional info about Jicamas:

4.5 oz of raw jicama has:
50 calories, and no fat
1 g protein
195 mg potassium
2g fiber
26mg Vitamin C and etc (Click here to read more)

So here is the recipe: (the vinaigrette is Amazing, and the avocado sauce is BOMB Diggity)

Red, White and Green Salad
serves 12 to 15

Salad:
1 lb. red cabbage, thinly sliced
2 small raw beets, peeled and shredded
8 oz spinach, thinly sliced
1 medium jicama, peeled and cut into matchsticks
1/2 onion, cut into half rings
3.5 oz candied/dried pineapple
1 cup croutons
1/2 cup toasted sesame seeds

Vinaigrette:
1.5 tsp soy sauce
1/2 cup grape seed oil
2 tbsp apple cider vinegar
1 tsp dried tarragon
1/2 tsp each oregano and thyme
salt and pepper

Avocado Dressing:
1 cup soymilk
1 clove garlic
1 tbsp lime juice
1 cup cream
2 avocados
1 tbsp finely chopped chives

1. Combine finely chopped cabbage, beets, spinach, jicama, onion and candied pineapple in a salad bowl.
2. Prepare vinaigrette dressing, and toss with salad in step 1.
3. Place avocado dressing ingredients in a blender (without the chives) and puree. Adjust seasonings and mix in chives. Put dressing in a separate bowl from salad.
4. Sprinkle salad with sesame seeds and croutons. Serve with avocado dressing on the side.

The salad and Chicken Posole

The salad and "Chicken" Posole

Another new ingredient for me last night was Jamaica. Jamaica is a flower that you can dry, and soak to make juice from. It was unexpectedly yummy! It looks like the color of grape juice, and tastes like a cross between a thin grape juice and hibiscus flower tea. It is delicately sweet, a gorgeous burgundy color, and smooth.

Another new ingredient was Quoron Chicken Nuggets, which is a meat substiture made from mushrooms and egg whites. It’s meat free and soy free, for those of you who are interested. I thought is tasted ok, but wasn’t a HUGE fan of the texture. I think if it was stir-fried, the texture would have been better.

red chicken posole

red "chicken" posole

Here is my cheese plate: Yum

After I got home, I took a very frustrating shower. Usually I love taking showers, but last night, I couldn’t decide if I wanted it warm, or hot, or cold. Like, every minute, I wanted a different temperature. One minute I was cold, and then too hot, and then too blah. Does that ever happen to you? You just can’t seem to get the right temperature? argh. haha, maybe TMI, but thought I’d share.

Question: Have you tried a new vegetable/fruit recently that you really enjoyed? Please share, as I would LOVE to expand my repertoire!

*For recipes from my previous cooking classes, go here, here, or here*

Responses

  1. hey nice post good wording you should come try my newest recipe strawberry shortcut yum! 🙂
    heres the way to try it out click here
    http://cookingblog.wordpress.com/2008/11/04/strawberry-shortcut-yum/

    ~cookingblog

  2. Cookingblog – Thanks for visiting, your strawberry shortcut looks very delicious and perfect for my sweet tooth!

  3. No matter how many times I try, I just can’t get into eating beets. I just don’t like them, and there are VERY few foods that I don’t like.

    Your salad looks gorgeous!

  4. I LOOOOVE JICAMA.

    and the fact that the election is done.

    no more campaign calls and we can GET to reviving our economy.

    I hope.

  5. […] I had my second to last Global Vegetarian Cuisine cooking class. I’m actually very sad I only have one more class left This class has been […]

  6. […] out with a Bang! Last night was my last Global Vegetarian Cuisines Cooking Class. I’m actually gonna miss it alot, cause I was learning a lot about new ingredients and new […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

