Posted by: Santa Barbara Dreaming | November 6, 2008

10 Days till I’m a Personal Trainer!!!

Eeeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!

I have exactly 10 days before I take my NASM exam to become a personal trainer. I am so excited and nervous at the same time. I have been studying and taking many many practice exams, so I feel prepared, but you never know with these things! I hear the tests are crazy hard, which doesn’t help at all…. 😦 Crunch time! Wish me luck 😉

The good news is that I may have my first training gig lined up for me after I (hopefully) pass the exam. I might become a trainer for an outdoor bootcamp class for girls called Bootycamp SB. It’s a very popular program where women have achieved some amazing results. I think this is perfect for me, because one of my biggest exercise philosophies is that you don’t need a gym with fancy equipments to get a great workout. I also love circuit style training, so I’m very excited aboout this!

photo from bootycampsb.com

photo from bootycampsb.com

Circuit training:
I love circuit training because it’s faced paced and keeps me from getting bored. Plus, you can target your entire body and get an effective workout in less amount of time. I don’t know about you, but I don’t have hours I can spend everyday at the gym endlessly working out. I want to get in and out, sweat, and get an AMAZING workout!

Circuit training is also one of the most advantageous ways to train your cardiorespiratory system, and alter your body composition (ie melting away fat!!) Basically, what it is, is you do one exercise after another with minimal rest in between. For example, I will do some push ups, move onto squats with overhead presses, onto lunges, etc, resting only 15 to 60 seconds in between. So it’s time efficient, yet provides great muscle toning. And you’re heart is pumping the entire time! (burn calories, burn! haha)

circuit training in a gym

circuit training in a gym

Also;

  • Circuit training has been proven to be just as beneficial as traditional methods of exercise at improving fitness levels.
  • Produces a bigger “after burn;” meaning you continue to burn more calories even after  you stop exercising. (you lean mean, fat burning machine, you!)
  • Greater strength gains
  • Burn tons of calories!

So…. next time you’re in a time crunch, try circuit training! And as for me, I should stop blogging and get back to studying….. 🙂  Although writing this post was a good method of review.  But I would love to know…

Question: What do you do to fit in exercise when you’re day is hectic and barely have any time?

My answer: (I sometimes just give up working out…. oops!)

Leave a Reply

Categories

