Posted by: Santa Barbara Dreaming | November 7, 2008

Where’d Everybody Go?

It’s oddly quiet out today. There’s hardly anyone on the streets, hardly any cars, and the CS studio has been very quiet for a Friday (usually its packed on Friday mornings – I assume everyone wants to look good for the weekend!) Maybe it’s becasue its 78 degrees out. Perhaps they are all at the beach… I’m jealous.

Thursay Workout:
Last night, I took the Bootycamp SB class that I might start working for. This is a weird word to use to describe a workout, but it was refreshing. It was an evening class, so we sprinted, crunched, and squatted underneath the stars. It’s been a while since I worked out outside in the dark, but I got reminded how peaceful and rejuvenating it could be. I thoroughly enjoyed the class, and my buns are SO SORE today, I can hardly sit down! (This is a problem for me, because when I try to use the bathroom, it HURTS to sit down…. woah, TMI !! haha) I’m excited that I might be able to start being involved with this.

Question: Have you ever worked out under the moonlight? What’s your favorite time of day to work out?

Now. Sorry to be a bummer, especially on a Friday, but I just wanted to gripe about something real quick. Throughout my college career, (and right now too) I’ve lived with multiple housemates. I’ve never lived with fewer than 6 people. It’s nice to have the company, but there is JUST ONE THING that really gets to me. (Now please understand, I’m usually extremely mild tempered)

What really ticks me off makes me sad 😦 is when my housemates think it’s OK to steal/eat/thow away your food that you work so hard to buy. I’ve had this same problem no matter how many different groups of people I live with.

Like today, I noticed an entire bottle of salad dressing had been used up (at least throw it away if you’re gonna use it, don’t make ME do it! oh, and HOW ON EARTH do you use up an ENTIRE bottle in one day….????) I also noticed that my brand new container of hummus was half gone, and my sweet potatoes were gone too. Another housemate is missing an entire container of pasta salad and box of Wheat Thins. And no one is owing up to it.

WHY????? I just don’t understand why some people think that this is acceptable behavior? (I mean, I thought we were all adults here!) I just don’t understand – do they feel entitled to it? Do they not remember that they didn’t buy it? Do they just not care? Do they not feel guilty? Why can’t they buy their own stuff?

I like the foods I buy, and unfortunately, I’m not at the stage (yet) where I can afford to buy food for other people to just take. Don’t get me wrong; I would be MORE THAN HAPPY TO SHARE, as long as THEY ASK ME. I live on a bidget, and it kind of throws me off when other people just snake stuff. But more than anything, it just makes me sad, that there are people out there who feel no shame just taking stuff FROM THEIR OWN HOUSEMATES/FRIENDS. 😦 And it seems like I’m not the only one this happens to. I’ve discussed this with other people, and they have experienced rude housemates as well. Boo.

I apologize for being a downer, but I’m just bumming out right now, becasue my food supply is being taken from me! Has this happened to any of you? What do you do in these situations? What’s a diplomatic approach? (I’m really not a confrontational person) sigh…

But, I will leave you with a happy thought: At least my stash of Larabars are safe! 🙂

 I would be SO sad if these babies disappeared

I would be SO sad if these babies disappeared

Responses

  1. Hey girly!! Wow, I totally have had tons of roomie issues. No one has really stole my food much….but I would FLIP if my food was taken….especially something like sweet potatoes, or food I was excited and looking forward to eating!!! I could never live with 5 other roomies though! Maybe you should find a new place to live? Though I’m not sure if that’s possible. I definitely know what it’s like to be on a budget though….I NEVER EVER eat out! I would keep bringing it up when ever it happens, and maybe have a roomie meeting and explain that you financially can’t afford to having this keep occuring.
    I’m so sorry!

    Oh and totally know what it;s like to have such sore legs that you can barely sit down/go to the bathroom! HA!

    As for your tempeh yesterday……. I adore it, though I’ve never tried West Soy brand…and I’m also still looking for that perfect recipe. Sorry yours didn’t turn out betteR!!

    HAPPY WEEKEND!!!!!!!!

  2. Oh dear, Julia. I’m so sorry to hear that people are stealing food. I am very selfish about food and refuse to share so my family is pretty careful about eating my food. I suspect that I died of hunger in my past-life, hence my reluctance to share food as I’m too greedy.

    But I know that you don’t mind sharing food and think it’s incredibly rude of your housemates not to respect your food. They probably grew up in an environment where they don’t ask and just take what they want. I think you should label your food and have a common understanding with your mates. Tell them that they need to ask permission.

    Hope it all works out for you. I’m rooting for you here. 🙂

  3. This is why I CANNOT live with roommates – I’ve NEVER had a good experience with roommates (and let me tell ya, I’ve had to deal with some… “interesting” characters, to put it nicely, haha 😉 ). Hang in there!!!

    **Favorite time of day to work out = morning. Although I have to work out morning, afternoon, AND evening (for yoga, training, dance classes), so I guess it’s all good, haha.

    LARABARS!!!!!! VEGGIEGIRL OBSESSION AND DAILY EAT!!!!!!

  4. GlidingCalm – Thanks so much for your great advice! I would loooove to one day have an apartment all to myself! 🙂 But right now, I don’t really have a choice, bummer.
    As for the Tempeh, I am going to keep experimenting, because I am determined to really like it! haha. I hope you have a fantabulous weekend also 🙂

    Alicia – Good idea. I am going to go buy a sharpie today and write my name on everything! Thanks for rooting for me, it really lifts my spirits 🙂 (as for my past life, my mom once went to go get my past life read in Japan… I can’t remember what she said I used to be, but I personally hope I was a Viking or something cool!)

    VeggieGirl – Larabars=Julia swimming in a puddle of her own drool. I just discovered the lemon bar flavor. OMG!!!!!! So good. Have you tried it yet?
    Isn’t it crazy how many “interesting” characters are out there? I mean, it makes for a great learning experience, but not a fun “living together” experience.
    Thanks so much for your concern, I appreciate it so much 🙂

  5. Ugh sorry about that roommate thing! I’ve never had that problem because I was always in a situation where we agreed to share and replace or have group things. It would really drive me crazy if people were sneaking and not owning up to it!

    Have you all had a conversation about the apartment food sharing policy. It might seem awkward, but maybe (maybe!) someone doesn’t think it’s a big deal. Good luck!

    Oh and I prefer to workout i n the mornings to set a nice tone for my day, but I’ve been doing it at night lately and don’t mind it.

    Heather

  6. I’VE TRIED EVERY SINGLE LARABAR FLAVOR!!! I’m an expert on them by now, haha 😉

  7. Heather –
    I think that if it happens again, I’m gonna hafta channel my inner courage and summon a house meeting… haha, I sound like such a whimp…Thanks for your comment!

    Veggie Girl –
    Lucky! I can’t even find all the flavors around where I live. I really want to try the hazelnut Jocolat bar; it sounds divine

  8. […] So there you go! Thanks Jess, for tagging me! Tagging seven people is going to be hard for me, as I’m new and don’t know too many people. But I would like to start by tagging the ladies who gave me advice about my housemate situation. […]

  9. I have never commented on a blog before, but I felt like you just spoke my story !!
    i just graduated from college, and when I was there, I lived with 3 other people. One of the girls would sneak food from us allllll the time! she would never ask, but take it in the middle of the night, and polish it off in one sitting! I didn’t even know how that was possible! And then when she would buy anything , she’d be like, did you eat my food? It drove me nuts! because first of all, I never ate her food, and second of all, she eats everything i buy! ah, i know its frustrating. and you know what i really didn’t know how to deal with it either, because i competely agree that girls hold grudges and take thigns way too personally… so i’m sorry you’re going through the same thign I did, I hope you can figure out a way to get through to her so that she understands it just not cool… ah haha just had a little bit of a rant lol


Leave a Reply

Categories

