Posted by: Santa Barbara Dreaming | November 9, 2008

Sunday musings and another energy bar review

Ahh Sunday. It’s never *quite* as enjoyable as Saturdays, because I have that little voice in the back of my head whispering: “tomorrow is Monday, tomorrow you must go back to work. Tomorrow you cannot lounge around in your jammies all day.” Saturday, I’m like “hells yeah! I can do whatever I WANT for the next two days! yeeeah! πŸ™‚ ”

However, I DO like to make the most of my Sundays. It’s only 9am still…. whatever shall I do today? Here is a wish list of the things I want to do;

  • Study for Personal Training Exam (!)
  • Go to Borders, and read cook books for free (hey, I’m not a millionaire yet, OK? haha)
  • Paint my toenails
  • DoΒ Yogadownload.com
  • Do some light weight/resistance training
  • Study some more.
  • Wash towels
  • Mop kitchen floor

Fairly exciting, huh? I wonder how many of those I will get through today?

*Edited to Add* It’s now 2:30, and I have done two loads of laundry, mopped kitchen, studied, and an hour of yoga. I think I’m gonna go for a stroll outside (even though it’s SUPER windy) for a nice change of pace.

Now onto another energy bar / Protein bar review.

Raw Organic Food Bar

Raw Organic Food Bar with Mr. Barry

Raw Organic Food Bar with Mr. Barry

I had the Chocolate Coconut Flavor. The package explains that this bar is 80% raw, “great taste, alkaline forming, no trans fats, no preservatives, no junk food.” It is gluten free, dairy and soy free, no peanuts, and no refined sugars.

The Flavor:
I was extremely surprised at first of how it tasted. I guess it’s maybe because I didn’t know what to expect. The first two bites kind of reminded me of dog food. It’s slightly chewy, very moist (for a bar), and beige colored with specks and chunks of stuff mixed in. As I started eating more of it, the dog food taste went away, and it now reminded me *faintly* of a Cashew Cookie Larabar. (emphasis on the faintly) There were a few good sized chocolate chunks in there, which lent to the overall moist-ness of the bar, and tasted yummy. However, I couldn’t get over the fact that I kept getting distracted by its texture. After each time I swallowed, there was a fibrous feeling left in my mouth. I’m guessing it was either the coconut or the bio sprouts in the bar. Either way, I just had this weird feeling in my mouth. By the time I got to the end of the bar, I actually kind of enjoyed the flavor, but not the texture. It’s not something I think I will eat again unless I was starving.

Ingredients:
Organic Cashew Butter, Organic dates, Organic Agave Nectar, Organic Brown Riice Protein, Organic Dark Chocolate Chips -Non Dairy (Organic Evaporated Can Juice, Organic Chocolate Liquor, Organic Cocoa Butter, Non-GMO Soya Lecithin), Organic Coconut, Organic Bio Sprouts (Trademarked), Quinoa, Organic Bio Sprouts – Flax (trademarked) and Lots of Love!

Nutrition: (per 50g bar)
230 calories, 11 g fat (Saturated fat 5g), 20 mg sodium, 27 g carbohydrates, 5 g fiber, 19 g sugar, 5 g protein, 4% Calcium, and 8% Iron.

I like how it has a lot of fiber, but I don’t really like the sugar content, and how it’s low on the protein content. For a not-very-nutrient-dense bar, it’s very high in calories and fat (even though it’s mostly from nuts and other healthy sources). I think I’ll stick to Larabars for now.

I hope everyone has a super lovely day!
And in case you were wondering, this is the cook book I’ve been eyeing…

If anyone wants to get this for me, Id be stoked! haha, jk (sort of...) Image from www.amazon.com
If anyone wants to get this for me, I’d be stoked! haha, jk (sort of…) Image from

http://www.amazon.com/Food-You-Crave-Luscious-Recipes/dp/1600850219/ref=pd_bbs_sr_1?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1226251555&sr=8-1

Question: Which Food Network Star would you want as a part of your family?

Miss Jess from Jess in Check says she would love to have Ellie Krieger (photo above) as a big sister. I would love to have Paula Dean as a grandma.

Responses

  1. Haha! Thanks So much for the mention- and sign me up for the book drive! We should all pitch in and share/ship books to eachother πŸ˜‰ There’s a great one I’m debating getting that’s ‘Festive Vegetarian Recipes from around the World’- it’s about all different holidays (including not so traditional ones!) and the recipes/rituals that go with them: Super interesting.

    Sitting and hanging at borders/barnes with a cup of tea is one of my Favorite things to do- especially now that I’m a college student without a super disposable income!

    I might steal a bit of your sunday and check out that yoga site/strength train(cause I’m sore for girly reasons and don’t wanna do cardio:(/debate going to read; BUT I do have to write a midterm… ah the debate.

    Hope your sunday is just as relaxing as possible- I dare you to wear pj’s the whole day πŸ˜‰

  2. p.s. you have been TAGGED!

  3. Jess –
    A book drive!? What a genius idea! Lovin’ it πŸ™‚
    I highly recommend the yogadownload.com; you can choose a 20/30/45 or 60 min class, depending on your mood. And I’m not in my jammies, but I am wearing my scrubs… lol
    Regarding being tagged; am I ‘it’? what is that? What do I do?

  4. Cool questions. I pick Giada as a sister. She’s so cute and makes the best food. Also, I already have a sister who reminds me so much of her, so it would be an easy fit. πŸ˜€

  5. Great product reviews!!

    Ahhh, that’s a tough question – I actually met Giada at an event a few years ago, and really had a lovely time talking to her; so maybe I’d pick her as a family member, haha. But I love the majority of the FN chefs (especially Emeril, who now has a show on the Planet Green channel called “Emeril Green,” where he does cooking demos at Whole Foods!!)

  6. Heather –
    oohh and Giada makes yummy cookies too! I’ve always wanted a sister….. πŸ™‚

    Veggie Girl –
    Whhhhhaaat!!! You got to MEET Giada! That is Waaaaaaay cool, and I am officially super jealous. It’s good to hear that she was nice in person as well. I had no idea about “Emeril Green”, sounds cool. I really REALLY wish we had a Whole Foods in Santa Barbara!!!!

  7. Have you ever tried the Simply Bar. They have a new Low GI bar that has 16 grams of soy protein, under 160 calories and fewer than 3 grams of fat.

    It tastes awesome and is gluten and dairy free.
    You should check it out http://www.wellnessfoods.ca

  8. Julie –
    Haha, I just typed “julia” by mistake… I think I have seen the Simply Bar, but can’t quite remember. I”ll for sure be on the lookout for them next time I’m bar hunting. (Haha, I don’t bar hop, but I DO bar hunt…. πŸ™‚ )
    Thanks so much for reading my blog!

  9. […] am stealing this idea from the lovely Julia at Santa Barbara Fitness:Β If you could have a Food Network Star as a family member who would it […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

