Posted by: Santa Barbara Dreaming | November 19, 2008

Mole mole chocolate mole!

Happy Humpday bloggers πŸ™‚ Do you know what this means? It means that it is almost the weekend! Hip hip hooray! I swear, the weekend cannot come soon enough πŸ˜‰

I thought I would share with you my review of a Larabar I had yesterday before my free “Battle of the Bulge” class. (more on that later)

I tried the Cocoa Mole flavor for the first time. The ingredients list said: Dates, Almonds, Walnuts, Unsweetened Cocoa Powder, Cinnamon, and CHILI. For real? Chili in my chocolate? I couldn’t imagine how HOT HOT chilis would taste with SWEET SWEET chocolate, so I was intrigued. Since you’re probably all tired of seeing photos of Larabars after Larabars, I decided little Miss Tabby could accompany the shot to liven things up a bit.

Cocoa Mole Larabar and Miss Tabby

Cocoa Mole Larabar and Miss Tabby

How did it taste? Was it spicy?
Well, I enjoyed it. I thought it tasted a lot like the chocolate Jocalat bar, but not as nutty or dry. It tasted more like regular Larabars, but chocolatey. And no, it wasn’t spicy. When I concentrated really hard, I think I noticed a slight tingling on my tongue from the chili, but it was very faint and hardly noticeable. I’m glad that it wasn’t a “hot” bar (that would be funky, I think), but it made me question the point of adding chili powder if you can’t even tell its there. (Sorry, but it’s in my nature to question everything) I think if they are going to call it a Cocoa Mole flavor, they shouldn’t be shy and just take up the chili flavor up a notch. Then I might be like, “dang! This bar is feisty! πŸ™‚ ” and enjoy it a bit more. Currently, it’s not my favorite flavor. Probably wouldn’t buy it again.

Nutrition info:
190 calories, 9g fat, 29g carbs, 5g fiber, 21g sugar, 4g protein.

Battle of the Bulge

Conditioning Studios is promoting a new group fitness class called the “Battle of the Bulge“, and is offering free classes all week. I went to my first free class last night, (going to go to another one tonight) and I enjoyed it! Macie was the instructor, and she worked us hard! It was an hour of circuit training. She had 5 different exercise stations set up, and we rotated stations where we did different moves.

For instance, on the BOSU Ball station, we would do crunches, then move on to the mat station for some hip bridges, move onto the stability ball for some push ups, etc. We did about 6 circuits with some cardio moves in between. It was high intensity and high energy. Everyone was sweating buckets and having a blast! Isn’t it great that such strenuous exercise can actually be fun in a group setting? If I were doing this alone, I would have been quite miserable, but having other people doing it with me added some motivation. Hey, I didn’t want to be the one to give up! haha. I’m usually a big fan of group classes because I find that I work out harder because I don’t want to seem like the lazy person of the group. Do any of you find that you work out harder in a group setting?

A photo from the website. I got to be a model! haha

A photo from the website. I got to be a model! haha

Tonight’s class is with Jesse (pictured, in the blue shirt). He is going to teach it differently, so I’m excited to see what we’ll do. I keep you updated! (I knowΒ  you are dying to know! πŸ™‚ )

Well well, don’t mean to keep you all hanging or anything, but I must go get a move on with the rest of my Wednesday. Hope you have a Marvelous afternoon! Much love, Julia

Responses

  1. That bar freaks me out a little…

  2. LARABAR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! πŸ˜€

    Miss Tabby is cute, haha.

    Enjoy your evening, Julia!!

  3. I think if I am in a class it seems less like work, ya know?

    I am intrigued by that bar after your review!

  4. Ooh, I love tough workouts so that looks like a blast!

    Thanks for the review on the mole larabar. They are too expensive to make a mistake. πŸ˜›

  5. awww, stuffed animals should be featured in every picture (that exists in the world, not just on your blog!)

    do you have a lot of them?

    I still get pretty self conscious exercising in groups- plus, since I’m witht he school their gym doesn’t offer any drop in classes 😦

  6. hey girl~~~ sorry that larabar wasn’t as you expected, but glad that you enjoyed anyway. But if you really want to try a good mix of chocolate and chili, you should try Lindts chocolate, they have a variety called Chili, and for me is the best spicy chocolate i’ve ever had.

    And the new workout seems fun, specially if it’s free. ^_^

    One day close to the weekend, yupi~~~~

  7. Veggie Girl – Miss Tabby says thank you very much, as she was feeling a bit shy! πŸ™‚

    Jess – I would recommend going with a friend first to group classes. That way, you have someone to laugh and giggle with, and you won’t feel half as self conscious. I started going to group classes with my mom! haha. I used to just be in the back corner, but the more I went, the more I felt comfortable, and now I don’t mind being in the front row. πŸ˜‰

    Coco – Almost Fridayyyyyy!!! Thanks for the Lindt chocolate info. They make bomb chocolates, so I will try finding their chili flavor! I am so curious.


Leave a Reply

Categories

