Posted by: Santa Barbara Dreaming | November 20, 2008

Back by Popular Demand

It’s Thursday! It’s almost Friday! And it’s alomst Thanksgiving! Who else is stoked? πŸ™‚

I’m glad you all were very friendly to Little Miss Tabby. Since she got such a positive response, I am going to have Mr. Gouppie introduce you to the Spiced Pumpkin Pie and Iced Gingerbread flavors of Clif bars. I’ve had Mr. Gouppie since probably kindergarten. I slept with him every night until about 5th grade, tucked tightly under my arm. πŸ™‚ I don’t sleep with him anymore (obviously) but I still have a soft spot for him in my heart. And the lovely painting in the back is by the equally lovely James πŸ˜‰ (hey James, I hope you read this!)

Mr. Gouppie with Clif Bars

Mr. Gouppie with Clif Bars

I tried the Spiced Pumpkin Pie and Iced Gingerbread flavored Clif bars, and I liked them both, although I liked Pear Apple Strudel the best out of the three seasonal flavors.

When I took my first bite out of the Pumpkin bar, I thought “Hmm, definitely not one of my favorite flavors,” but it grew on me. I liked how dense it was, and how it was both crunchy and chewy at the same time. It does have a nice pumpkin pie flavor to it, though I thought it was a little “artificial” tasting. (I think that’s what threw me off a little on the first bite.) I did enjoy the glaze/frosting on it, and the unmistakable pumpkin flavor. However, I would say that it’s my least favorite out of the three. Plus, it’s fairly high in calories, (240 calories), so I don’t know if it tastes good enough to splurge on. Click here for nutrition information.

The Iced Gingerbread bar was good. The Ginger taste really reminds me of the holiday season, and makes me feel really happy πŸ˜‰ I would rank it #2 out of the three flavors, but if you don’t like your gingerbread to be highly “ginger-y”, you might not like this bar. Click here for nutrition information.

I was able to find all three flavors both at Whole Foods, and at Ralph’s grocery store right by my house.

Wednesday Workout:

Last night I did my second free class of the Battle of the Bulge. Jesse was the instructor last night, and we had a very different kind of workout. This workout focused on using body weight, light dumbbells and resistance bands for a strength training session. Although it was performed in a circuit manner, it was more strength oriented, not cardio oriented. And I loved that we did a lot of core strengthening exercises! Here’s one we did last night that I thought was effective; (Photos to come later)

1. Sit on the floor with your legs straight out in front of you, toes pointed toward the ceiling.
2. Hold the ends of a resistance band tight in each hand with your arms up over your head. (If you don’t have a band, you can twist up a towel into a rope, and hold onto the ends) You want to be pulling on the band so that your arms are engaged.
3. Without letting go of the tension, rotate your torso to the right, arms still overhead. Use your core to move, not your arms, or momentum. Rotate back to the center, and to the left. Repeat. Keep your abs and arms engaged!!!

This one should burn! πŸ™‚ I’m really glad the new classes are getting off to a good start. Tonight, I am going to another Bootycamp SB class to take notes and to learn how to teach it! I’m really excited to learn all these new exercises for different body parts!

I promise I will post photos to the exercise I explained later! πŸ˜‰ I hope everyone’s Thursday is off to a great start, and filled with health and happiness. I’m actually craving some Champagne right now…. even though it’s only noon! (so bad, I know!) haha. Does anyone else get weird/totally inapproprate cravings sometimes???

Responses

  1. mmmmmmm……. I need to try the pumpkin bar. if you don’t know yet…I’m a true pumpkin lover~~~~~~

    And Mr. Gruppie looks so funny~~~ I Have soy many toys that I need to present to you guys too ^_^

  2. Mr. Gouppie is very cute! I have a blanky that I sleep with.

    Thanks for the detailed bar review! Sometimes I want a beer and I always want ice cream.

  3. i never crave mcdonalds unless i smell it. and there is a mcdonalds right in front of my work (which is torturous for our clients) so if i leave between 9-10 am to get a starbucks- they are making fries for the lunch crowd. its horrible.

    and on the ride home i really wanted chicken parmasean. i totally spelled that wrong.

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.groundedfitness.com

  4. Coco – aka pumpkin lover – What’s your favorite way to eat pumpkin? I only know of ways to make it into sweets, and would love to have a way to make it more savory!

    Hangry Pants – I could never turn down ice cream either. Ever. Especially my two lovers Ben and Jerry.

    Kelly – Man! That must be torturous having Mickey D’s right there! Whenever I come across a McDonald’s, I can smell their fries from like a mile away! (What do they fry them in that smells so strong anyways???)

  5. Aw!!! I love Mr. Grouppie!
    I’m not a fan of Clif bars, like, at all… maybe it was a bad experience or something…

  6. i loved the pumpkin flavor, but the gingerbread one didn’t taste like gingerbread to me so I was kind of disappointed.


Leave a Reply

Categories

