Posted by: Santa Barbara Dreaming | November 28, 2008

A new twist

Happy happy turkey day everyone!

I hope you all had a lovely day filled with the company of loved ones, and of course, loved food!

I had a GREAT thanksgiving day with my friend Rachel. We cooked our first turkey day meal together, but with a twist!

We cooked aΒ CARIBBEANΒ thanksgiving turkey dinner πŸ˜‰

Since we were only cooking for three, we didn’t want to cook an entire turkey. Plus, we wanted to try new flavors, and expand our repertoire with new flavor combinations. So we went with Caribbean Jerk Spice Turkey Burgers. Ummmm… heaven!!! Not only was this burger extremely exotic and flavorful, it was new, exciting, different, and easy!!! It was exceptionally tastey, because Rachel used all fresh herbs and spices. I think fresh spices make ALL the difference in the world! This burger had an amazing cinnamon flavor, and some heat from the cayenne pepper. It was such a refreshing twist to the traditional roasted turkey!

Β 

Caribbean themed burger

Caribbean themed burger

We took turkey and sweet potatoes, which are classic Turkey day ingredients, and put a tropical twist to it. The burger contained breadcrumbs, cinnamon, cloves, allspice, chives, cayenne pepper, nutmeg, cumin, and probably some more spices. (Rachel…! Please teach me how to make this recipe!) The sweet potatoes had brown sugar, olive oil, salt and pepper, and cumin. Amazing. Fabulous.

Β 

Our Thanksgiving Dinner

Our Thanksgiving Dinner

We also had the yummy pumpkin cake I made for James for dessert. James is in Texas with his relatives for the break. But he’s going to be gone for 6 days!!!!!!!!! 😦 I’m really sad about this. I really miss him already….! And he’s only been gone for two days. But I still don’t get to see him for four more days. Booooo. It’s so hard, because we live so close and we basically get to see each other almost every day, or at least every other day. So it’s hard to not see him for so long….. BUT. Instead of complaining today, I should be GRATEFUL that I have such an AMAZING person in my life I get to spend so much time with, and look forward to Monday night, when I get to see him. πŸ™‚ And for all of you who have long distance relationships, I have so much respect for you. You are all such troopers! But let’s be thankful for the love we are fortunate enough to have enough to experience in our lives ❀

Β 

pumpkin cake with powdered sugar sprinkled on top

pumpkin cake with powdered sugar sprinkled on top

Back to the topic of food, the pumpkin cake was moist, fluffy, and perfect.Β 

Confession; I ate 2/3 of the cake. By myself. I am not kidding or lying. Oops. hahaΒ 

I also ate about 1/3 of a key lime pie. (not photographed.) Sugar high much? πŸ˜‰

Β 

sweet potato fries

sweet potato fries

We did have one KITCHEN CATASTROPHE. Thanksgiving dinner is not complete without a mishap, right? haha. Well, I have gonna make Butternut Squash Fries. OK. I cut up the squash, line it up on the baking tray, sprinkle a little oil on it, and sprinkle some salt onto it. I was on my last sprinkle of salt when POOF!

The lid of the salt canister fell off, and the ENTIRE contents of the salt container spilled onto my butternut squash!!!! The entire pan is covered in a mountain of salt. Sea salt, none the less. I can only see tiny bits of the squash peeking through the salt. Oooooooh crap! What do I do….?

I decided to shake off the excess salt and bake it anyway. I take it out, and try a little taste. ICK! EW! Peee-ew! Yucko! Ugh. It was like eating a spoonful of sea salt. It was quite possibly the saltiest thing I have ever eaten. I tried to salvage it by baking it with some brown sugar. Didn’t work. I tried making butternut squash soup with some chicken stock, butter,cream, olive oil, milk, and brown sugar. (Not low-calorie at all!) It did make it taste good, but it was sooooooo salty still! I even put some sliced potatoes in there, because apparently, potatoes suck up some of the saltiness. Didn’t work. I really tried my best to salvage my butternut squash disaster, but alas, at the end of the night, I had to throw it away. I hate throwing food away. Oh well. It was soooooooo salty. In the process of trying to save my disaster, I ended up eating so much salt! I was incredibly thirsty for the rest of the night and ended up chugging like, 7 cups of water! haha.

All in all, I had such a great thanksgiving day πŸ™‚ It was so nice to spend it with such a great friend. It definitely helps me miss James less. I hope everyone had a great day too, free of kitchen catastrophes!!!!!

And because today is a day of being thankful, I wanted to share photos that make me feel incredibly grateful πŸ™‚

Me and Rachel. What is wrong with my leg...????????

Me and Rachel. What is wrong with my leg...????????

my favorite girls

my favorite girls

And last but not least, I am thankful for all my fantastic blog readers!Β 

I’m off to run a bajillion miles tomorrow morning to run off some of that cake!

Responses

  1. Happy Thanksgiving Julia! πŸ™‚

    That was alot of cake that you ate. Oh well, at least you would have lots of glycogen stored for your run tomorrow. πŸ˜›

  2. glad to know that you had a wonderful alternative dinner with you friends. Sorry about the kitchen incident…. but it happens, and when it happens with friends, it could be fun sometimes!!!
    And girl…..don’t complain that your boy is away only for 6 days!!!! We’ve been living apart for 2 years and half already!!!hahahaah….just kidding! I know what you mean when you used to see someone everyday and suddenly you don’t, it’s like missing one part of you. But as you say, we’re so lucky to find that someone so I’m thankful anyway.
    Enjoy the rest of your thanksgiving!

  3. SUCH a fun twist on the Thanksgiving meal – yum!! I’m all over those sweet potatoes πŸ˜€

    Lots to be thankful for, for sure – happy belated Thanksgiving, Julia!!

  4. Love the hot pictures, girly!

    Sorry about the salty fries, but at least there was pumpkin cake! Sounds like you had a fun day, so all is well. πŸ˜€

    Heather

  5. Oh and about your boyfriend. Mark lives about 4 hours away and I don’t get to see him very much, but when I do I appreciate it even more. So, I bet when you see your boyfriend at the end of the 6 days you’ll be so happy and excited it will be like you first met all over again. πŸ˜€

  6. LOVE the pictures!!! Happy thanksgiving!

  7. […] PS – I have the recipe for the Caribbean Jerk rub for our turkey burger last night. It is so amazing, and I can’t wait to share it all with you… tomorrow! mmmmm tastes […]

  8. What a great idea! I love this! Everything look fabulous my dear!
    -C

  9. I just thought of something! For an even more tropical twist, you could have cooked the sweet potatoes with coconut milk… yum.

  10. Lida – What if I made mashed sweet taters with coconut milk? OMG………!!

    Everyone – Thanks for reading and commenting. I am thankful for each and every one of you! Blogging just wouldn’t be the same with out you all! πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

Categories

