Posted by: Santa Barbara Dreaming | November 29, 2008

Juliabars…. or more like Juliaballs

Black Friday….!

Is it a blessing or a curse??? I went out with the intention of buying socks and only socks. (All my socks slide down my ankle into my sneakers, and it’s really annoying… does anyone else get this problem?) BUT of course, I couldn’t come home with only socks. I ended up buying two sweaters at the Gap. Hey, they were having a Buy One Get One Free sale. So I don’t feel too guilty πŸ˜‰

So I have no recollection how I ended up on this page, but I found Camilla’s blog Enlightened Cooking, where she made her own Larabars. WTF!!!!!!! You can MAKE YOUR OWN LARABAR???? I was extremely intrigued. Apparently, you can take dates, cashews, chop it up in the food processor, and mash em together, and voila! You have a larabar. No friggin way!!!

So I bought some dates and roasted cashews, put ’em in the food processor, and mashed them together. So easy!

Juliabar

Juliabar

Here is my version of the Larabar against a Hawaiian backdrop. I guess they are more like Laraballs than Larabars. They turned out great though! Not QUITE as good as a Larabar….yet! They definitely have potential. I think next time, I will buy higher quality dates (mine were really blah), and not chop up my cashews so finely. But it was such a fun activity, and I am excited to try new flavor combos, with almonds, and dried fruit pieces.

This project made me want to make out a shout out to Veggie Girl, because I know how much she loves Larabars! πŸ™‚ Maybe she could perfect this recipe???? πŸ˜‰

I don’t know if making your own Larabars is more cost effective than buying them at the store or not. For a whole tub of dates and cashews, I was only able to make a handful of these balls. I think it might actually be cheaper (???) just to buy the Larabars, because you would have to buy a LOT of dates and cashews to make a whole bar, and neither dates nor cashews are cheap. But they sure are fun to make!

A close up:

close up on Juliaball

close up on Juliaball

Friday Workout

I finally worked out today, in Rachel’s super duper nice gym. It wasn’t the best run by any means, but it sure felt good to sweat and work off some of this entire week’s indulgences. I ran/walked for 40 minutes broken down like this:

3 min walking (warm up)
10 min run at my usual running pace
5 minutes interval running (changing ace every 30 seconds, incorporating a lot of sprints)
10 minutes interval walking at the highest incline (my machine goes up to 15). I change the speed every 30 seconds, from jogging to slow walking
8 minutes jogging at my usual pace
4 minutes cool down walking

This got me nice and sweaty. I also did some core work and worked on my triceps. I did my new favorite crunch: the diamond crunch, aka the clam crunch. I will have a demo of this exercise soon!

I don’t know how long we worked out, cause we were just having fun watching Ellen, chit chatting, and working out. I really wish my house came with a gym! That would be soooo nice. One day…. one day…. πŸ˜‰

Rachel and I are going to work out again tomorrow. I think I am going to concentrate on my butt, legs, and core tomorrow, and less cardio. I can’t wait!

Friday dessert

Rachel’s yummy chocolate pumpkin bread. Can you tell I enjoyed it a lot? πŸ˜‰ So moist, chocolatey, cinnamony, and perfect. Rachel, you are an amazing baker.

Oh, PS – I have the recipe for the Caribbean Jerk rub for our turkey burger last night. It is so amazing, and I can’t wait to share it all with you… tomorrow! πŸ˜‰

mmmmm tastes like the holidays

mmmmm tastes like the holidays

get in my belly

get in my belly

Can’t you just see how MOIST is it? daaaang.

I hope you all had a fun Black Friday. Did you find any GREAT DEALS anywhere?

I’m LOVING this four day weekend! I’m gonna watch Top Chef reruns and clean up my room. Bye all, and see you tomorrow! πŸ™‚

Responses

  1. Wow, it looks great!
    And I’m catching up on Top Chef right now too! Haha!

  2. HOMEMADE LARABARS?!?!?!?!?!?!

    **faints**

    **regains consciousness**

    Thanks for the shout-out, ma’am πŸ˜€

  3. P.S. be sure to use FRESH, MEDJOOL DATES!!! Not dried up pitted nastiness dates.

  4. You are too sweet! Thanks so much for all your comments, and your non-traditional Thanksgiving looked great as well.
    Yeah, blech, I know I’m probably too young to be worrying about this stuff anyway– i’m just realizing that I need to know how to stop when I’m full.
    What do you consider interval training? Do you mean easy, hard, different levels for different time periods, etc?
    Oh and yeah, that is my apartment… we have a lot of contemporary art because my dad curates. It’s pretty cool but sometimes is kind of austere and I miss my cozy old house

  5. AHHH! COOL!! I’ll be making those FOR SURE!

  6. Great pics! Black friday is so lame. If I ever participate in that mess, it would be a cold day in hell. In fact if I ever become so obsessed with material goods just shoot me.

  7. Julia, I think you did pretty well to contain your shop-holic in black friday. Two shirts are really nothing comparing with other people madness. I went to an outlet last year with friends and stand on a line at 11.45pm. Really crazy thing! But I didn’t end up buying much because the madness of people buying whatever they see or were on sale just made me want to get out of the shop. I really enjoy doing shopping, but not this kind.
    It seems that you had a great workout. I just began to do cross-work on the treadmill and I found it much more interesting than jogging. It keeps me excited all the time and of course it makes me work hard also.
    Have a nice day Julia~~~

    Oh… btw I think buying larabar would be cheaper than making it at home. because you’ll need to buy a lot of stuffs to make them as delicious as larabars and that will cost you a lot of $.

  8. haha! YES! I make my own too! Its way too fun creating new combos! I have a shit ton of “larabar” creations in my freezer.
    I went to William Sonoma yesterday, but unfortunately FULL PRICE! I did get a $10 coupon though! I can’t really handle Black Friday, I need major Xanax to cope haha
    -C

  9. I love chocolate pumpkin bread!

    No shopping for me yesterday, I hate the crowds!

  10. haha i like the laraballs…I just started a blog, I’m still adding people, of course I have to hit up the So Cal girl! I love your blog, workouts, workout outfits, πŸ˜€ etc. Have a great weekend!

  11. Carolinebee – Thanks for visiting! I’m always soo stoked to meet new readers! Yay for So Cal bloggers πŸ˜‰ I can’t wait to check out your blog!

    Caroline F – what else have you put in your Larabar creations? What flavors have worked well?

    Coco- yeah, I think it would be cheaper to buy Larabars, but it WAS fun to try to make them!

    Sharon – thanks for stopping by! Yay for Top Chef; I can’t wait till Wed to see the next episode!

    Veggie Girl – I will try to look for some Medjool dates next time!

    Wineblog – thanks for reading! Yeah, Black Friday isn’t the greatest of days, but for broke people like me, the bargains are great!

    Biz319 – Not a big fan of crowds either. But a BIG fan of chocolate pumpkin bread! haha πŸ™‚

    Lida – I left you a comment about interval training on your blog πŸ˜‰


Leave a Reply

Categories

