Posted by: Santa Barbara Dreaming | November 30, 2008

Wow, and I still have another day off!

4 day weekends. I could get used to this…..! It’s so nice having the time to fit in so many activities I normally have to rush. I love being able to sleep till 8, being able to fit in long workouts, being able to putts around, and being able to have time to blog! 🙂 I think 4 day weekends should be mandatory at least once a month. Wouldn’t you agree? I think it will be so great for all our sanity. The world will be a much merrier place 😉 (maybe)

I woke up today, and drove over to Rachel’s to work out with her. I love her gym, and had another fantastic workout.

Saturday Workout:

  • 15 min run (speeds ranging from 6 to 7)
  • Abs circuit
  • 5 min jog
  • legs and butt circuit
  • 5 min interval waking at the highest incline (15)
  • more butts, abs, and triceps

GREAT workout. Sweaty, hot, painful, and amazing. After the workout, I took a dip in her pool, since I was intensely hot, and because it was such a nice day, and because I love being in the water. Yes it is the end of November. Yes it is an outdoors pool. Yes it is still 70+degrees out. Yes I do love Santa Barbara 🙂

I am surrounded by sunlight

I am surrounded by sunlight

My hair frizzed, and it looked like I had horns

My hair frizzed, and it looked like I had horns

FYI – I am gonna start posting more pics of me from now on. This is because I am a narcissist, and I think I am the coolest thing to look at.

HAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!!! I am totally just kidding! The real reason is that my mom, who reads this blog, lives in Japan, and only gets to see me once a year. She has requested more photos of me, so she can keep up with what her daughter is up to. (making sure I stay out of trouble, haha). So bear with me. My mama misses me 😉

After the workout, I went home, deep conditioned my hair with the sample treatment my hair stylist in Tokyo gave me, did laundry, took a 30 min nap, and did some reading for work. And then I got bored…… I guess I’m not used to having so much free time…? How can this be? All week long I wish for free time and when I DO have it, I get bored? Insanity. Good thing I know the perfect remedy!

I set out on a leisurely walk to get some fresh air, and kill some time while still being active and productive! My one and only goal was to see the OCEAN! I walked through the “shopping” area of Santa Barbara, and got distracted by Old Navy and World Market. I was soooooooooo tempted to shop more. It was very tough to walk away, but I did it. Phew. I’m so glad I didn’t spend more money I don’t have. Success! My walk was nice, slow, and relaxing, minus the occasional annoyance I felt at the crowd of people. But I did take a picture of a very pretty interesection:

I finally did make it to the ocean, and walked alongside it for awhile, and turned around to go home. It was a nice hour and a half walk. And then I got to talk to one of my best friends on the phone for about an hour. It was so great to catch up! 🙂

And as promised, I am going to share with you the recipe for Rachel’s super duper Caribbean Turkey Burgers! (they are out of this world!) Try to use fresh herbs if you can. It will make the world of a difference. (is that the correct phrase? sometimes I get American sayings wrong)

they taste AMAZING as meat balls too!

they taste AMAZING as meat balls too! Pictured with some spinach, hummus, and pineapple-cranberry sauce.

Ingredients (serves 4)
2 tsp allspice berries
1/2 tsp black peppercorns
1/8 tsp ground nutmeg
1/8 tsp cinnamon
1/4 tsp thyme
1/2 tsp salt
1/4 tsp ground cayenne pepper
1 clove garlic, minced
1 tbsp vinegar
1/8 cup minced chives
1 lb ground turkey
1 egg
1 cup fresh breadcrumbs

Directions:
1. Toast the allspice berries lightly in dry skillet and grind them and the peppercorns finely.
2. Mix with remaining dry spices. Then add minced garlic, the chives, and the vinegar, and mix.
3. Add the meat, the egg, and breadcrumbs, and mix very well.
4. Form into patties, (or meat balls) and broil on both sides until done, about 15 minutes.

Rachel also made a honey-mustard sauce using honey and mustard (duh) and cinnamon, nutmeg, cayenne pepper, and S+P.  Major yum factor. Makes darned good leftovers too. 🙂

Well, I still have whole other day to relax and enjoy. I am planning to do some yoga, some grocery shopping, and some cooking for the upcoming week. I am so excited! But until then, I’m gonna make some hot chocolate and do some reading. What a great Saturday evening.

I hope you all are having an enjoyable weekend! And thanks for all your comments; they really do brighten up my day 🙂 Please keep ’em coming! You are all the bestest! 🙂

Question; So as I explained, I sometimes mess up American phrases/sayings. But apparently, I’m not the only one! Just recently, I saw that someone had written “chalk full antioxidants,” instead of “chock full.” It mad me chuckle. Have you ever had a humorous error with a phrase/saying?

Double Question: OK, this is a dilemma I am facing. I’m usually broke, but I have some $ to treat myself. (it is the holidays) The question is, do I get 1 new pair of Lululemon yoga pants, or do I get a few (two or three) cheaper clothing items?  I wear yoga pants almost every single day, so a new one would be nice…. but having a couple new things would be nice too. What would you do??????


Responses

  1. You look adorable!!
    I feel the same way about these loooong weekends. I could totally get used to it!

  2. I loooove the long weekend. Definitely should be mandatory 🙂

    I always thought that “bold faced lie” was “bald faced lie”. I didn’t know how a lie could be “bald faced”, but I really did think that’s what the phrase was!

  3. I enjoyed so much reading this post, it’s sooo fun and so sincere! I used to get bored when I finally got some free time after work, but it doesn’t happen to me any more. I don’t know, maybe I have less free time now or I am less hyperactive (I used to be the kind of person who need doing something all the time, otherwise I’d feel I’m wasting my time) or I learned how to appreciate my time more. Now, the day that I treat me doing non-school work, I’d read a lot on the coach (maybe nap in between), organize music, emails, to marathonic grocerries shopping, talk with friends/family…… or just read magazine and listen to music. It’s the perfect relaxing day for me.
    But you’re so lucky to live in SB, it’s such a beautiful place I really need to visit you someday.
    Enjoy your sunday!

  4. Don’t feel bad– I used to think chicken pot pie was “chicken pox pie” (granted, I was little, but still! gross)
    not sure about the yoga pants because I’ve never seen the ones you’re talking about. If they’re completely amazing and worth wearing a few times a week I say go for it and get some more regular pants when you’re not broke.
    Speaking of your workouts, what are your “circuits?” I usually find working out in gyms pretty boring, but now that it’s freezing outside here I might need to start doing it. Any ideas on how to make it more entertaining? Today I read my book, but obviously I couldn’t do intervals while doing that.
    Have a great last day of the weekend!

  5. Okay, I am from Vancouver I grew up about 10 blocks from where Lululemon started and I have owned a lot of lulus in my time. I have never regretted buying a pair. If you get a pair of nice plain black ones they are flattering and can be dressed up if needed. Plus they are so damn comfortable its like you aren’t wearing anything. Buy the lulus!

  6. I am totally jealous of you right now! Santa Barbara looks amazing.

    I thought it was “old wise tale” and I learned it’s actually “old wive’s tale.”

    Unless you really need lots of new little things, splurge for the lululemon! I want a pair so badly!

  7. I live in yoga pants too so i figure if its going to be something i wear most of the time, its worth it to spent a little more dough.

    No fair. i had to work friday and saturday 😦

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.groundedfitness.com

  8. […] also bought some more ground turkey to make a week’s worth of Caribbean Turkey Burgers, (Click here for recipe) some more sweet potatoes, apples, yogurt, bread, and this and that for the week. I am really going […]

  9. Thanks for all your advice, ladies! You all are so helpful! 😉
    I am for sure going to go for the lululemons! yay. I now have to decide whether I want knee length, or full length, but either way, it will be lulu! I’m so excited!


Leave a Reply

Categories

