Posted by: Santa Barbara Dreaming | December 2, 2008

It’s Toooosday!

Good morning lovelies!

So I was a bad little girl yesterday and did not post. But to my defense, the first Monday of the month, and especially the Monday after a long weeked is always quite hectic. But the biggest reason I couldn’t blog was becasue JAMES CAME BACK!!!! Yay! I usually blog in the evenings, but I spent all of yesterday evening catching up with him, and going to an office meeting. So I apologize if you missed me ( šŸ˜‰ ),Ā  but it was very nice to just hang out with James. In fact, I was SO excited to see him, I actually ran home after work. I had my purse tucked under my arm, and just booked it home. haha. I’m sure I looked pretty darned silly. It was worth it though, obviously.

Another reason I was a bad blogger is becasue I didn’t take photos. And my eats were very yummy yesterday! I’m on a challenge to eat less sugar and junk this month. (ie- eat an entire jar of PB in three days, eat an entire box of Famos Amos cookies, eat 3 candy bars per day) Not only is this not great for my health, it’s not good for my wallet. I spend so much $$ on crappy (but oh-so-delicious) food, so more for budgetary reasons, I am cutting them out this month. BUTTTTT, I am allowed to eat junk if some one else gets them for me! haha. James had brought me a souvenier of Hawaiian chocolate covered Macadamia nuts, and I had two of those. Heaven.

I know that many people in the blog world were successful in eating healthy and yet cutting down on thier food budget last month. I have a very strictly limited food budget, and there’s not that much else I can cut back on. But since I really want to make a concentrated effort this month, I am aksing you all for some money-saving tricks! What did you find that saved you the most $$?

since I don’t have photos from yesterday, here is a blast from the past; a trip to Hawaii from last summer;

thats me jumping off a rock into the water. If you look closely, youll see me! haha

that's me jumping off a rock into the water. If you look closely, you'll see me! haha

Sorry I feel like I am skipping around topics today, but I guess I am a bit scatter brained right now, oops. Bear with me.

Last night I also indulged in a little bit of ice cream as well. Or to be more precise, some SOY ICE CREAM. As I’ve said before, I useually don’t like soy products that pretend to be something else, like soy ice cream, tofurkey, etc. But this brand, “It’s SOY DELICIOUS” from Turtle Mountain, is really tasty!

But here’s a semi-funny, semi-sad story about it. Last Wednesday, I drove in bumper to bumper traffic to go to this one store to buy the Pomegranate Chip flavor by the same brand. However, the ones in the freezer were kinda mushy, like they weren’t frozen enough or something. So I reached to the back of the freezer, and found one that was very frozen. Satisfied with the rest of my purchases, I drove home and unpacked my goodies, only to discover that I had gotten the Chocolate Peanut Butter Flavor!!! Gahhhhhhhh. šŸ˜¦ You can just imagine the frustration I felt; I had just driven in traffic, spent 5 bucks on an ice cream flavor I had my heart set on, but got the wrong flavor, and I don’t even like soy ice cream! I decided to give it a try, and I hated it. But I hated the idea of wasting ice cream, of all things, so I decided to give it another try. And guess what? I liked it!! šŸ˜‰

My theory is that all foods, no matter what, derserves a second chance to redeem themselves. IĀ  have even given Pig Hooves a second chance. (no, they are awful no matter how many times you try ’em). I mean, you never know if for some freak reason, you just got a bad one or not. So I never make up my mind until I try it twice. I was reminded of this fact by the lovely Miss Maggie from Say Yes to Salad, who gave her kelp noodles a second chance. So I leave with you with this question;Ā  Have you ever given a food a chance to redeem itself, and actually quite enjoyed it?

and I promise that there will be lots of exciting new content and photos tomorrow! Please don’t give up on me just yet! šŸ˜‰

Happy Tuesday, all!

oohh and PS- The kind Miss Kelly from Grounded Fitness is giving away a killer Danskin Vest on her blog; please go check it out!

Responses

  1. Thanks for the shoutout šŸ™‚

    When we were trying to cut back our budget we basically stopped buying anything premade. I only bought fruit/veggies/rice for almost the whole month. And not much meat – I used tofu and fake meat and stuff we already had in the freezer. Apparently we spend a ton on things like terra chips and pretzels and other random snacky food.

  2. so glad to know that the happy couple is together again!!! I can’t wait to see my angel!!!! (which is fortunately in about a month)

    sorry that I can’t offer you tips to cut budget on food, because this is the last thing that I’d cut šŸ˜‰ I need to make sure to have enough and good quality of food, otherwise I feel depressed. hahhaah……….:D

  3. Ok your title reminded me of…

    “Tooooosdays coming, did you bring your coat?”

    If you don’t know what Im talking about I appologize but i got a good laugh from it regardless!
    And yes my vegan meatballs had quite the redemption in my dinner last night! I still hate russet potaters , they just suck.

  4. I should also be on the less sugar and junk train this month! It’s so hard with the holiday goodies, but at least, the idea is in the back of my mind! šŸ™‚

    Also, thanks for your comment on my blog this afternoon! I totally agree!

  5. I have these ones which are probably my favorite after my pants. But I live somewhere slightly colder. I might get the cropped ones if I were you…
    http://www.lululemon.com/products/womens/bottoms/crops/all_sport_crop

  6. Caroline f – sadly I dunno the Tooosday song, but I’m glad if I was able to make you laugh! šŸ™‚

    Coco – I hope the time between now and when you get to see your boyfriend flies by!

    Maggie – thanks for your tip. I’m really going to try hard not to buy pre packaged stuff this month, because I think those are the most expensive items.

    Tina – I know…. the holiday goodies are making my challenge hard…. but my challenge excluded freebies and gifts from other people! haha šŸ˜‰ I can’t go cold turkey on sugar and chocolates. Waaaay too yummy

  7. So much fun in your “Toooosday” post!! šŸ˜€

  8. Thanks for the biggest loser link about Vicky! Very interesting!

    I have been planning meal for 20+ years. I always start by looking at the sale papers, and base my menu off of that.

    Chicken breasts on sale this week? Then I’ll plan chicken enchiladas, chicken fingers and chicken pot pie that week. It’s all about reinvesting meals based on one protein.

    Hope that helps a bit!

  9. I figured I’d respond to your questions back on your blog:) Leaving SB was definitely hard, but I’m close, up in SLO so I still have the beach and also close enough to come back when I need a Santa Barbara fix. Good luck on the less sugar challenge, I know that can be hard over the holidays!


Leave a Reply

Categories

