Posted by: Santa Barbara Dreaming | December 3, 2008

Mr Chiropractor! Thank youuuuuu!

As promised, I’m back, and I do have a bunch of exciting news! My day yesterday was quite unexpectedly fantastic. Actually, to be more precise, my evening was fantastic! My day was spent filing, filing, and filing papers in the office. So that wasn’t all that great. BUT, right at 4:30, things started looking up!

I was extremely excited to go to my fist visit with a chiropractor. As I’ve said before, my wrist and shoulder have been in a lot of discomfort and pain. It’s been bothering me for several months, so my boss Doug arranged a chiropractic visit for me. (Thank you thank you!) But not to get ahead of myself. On my walk to the chiropractor, I stopped by a little market called Cantwells right by my office for some peanuts or something to much on. But guess what!

I found the Coconut Cream Pie and Hazelnut Jocalat Larabars!!! I have been looking ALL OVER Santa Barbara for these two flavors! I probably have been to every single grocery mart in town, only to discover that they were just TWO BLOCKS away from my office! Hooray! And I know, I know, I’ve challenged myself to NOT spend money on junk food, but Larabars are a different story! And let me tell you, the Coconut Cream Pie flavor ROCKED my socks off! Ohhh boy πŸ˜‰

I look..... scary.

I look..... scary.

Ok I think this photo is not particularly flattering, but eh whatever. Yes I know I have a pimple (two to be exact), but what can you do. haha

So onto the real exciting part. After months of living in discomfort and pain, I finally know what’s wrong with me!! Let me tell you, it is SUCH a relief to know my pain has a real cause. I have been referring to the pain as a “mystery,” so it’s nice to know what’s up.

My chiropractor, Dr. Neal, from Barry Family Chiropractic, explained to me that I have a couple misalignments in my spine and wrist. Apparently, the carpals of my wrist have flattened out, causing my nerves to be pinched when I flex it. Also, my shoulder is attached anteriorly in my joint, causing it to shift and pop when I raise my arms. And the whole process the chiropractor went through was pretty neat, too.

We started off by measuring the electrical impulses my muscles were sending out. How high tech! And then he pushed and pulled my arms and wrists in all sorts of directions to see where I had imbalances. Then, after noting the locations of these imbalances, he twisted me so that my joints could “pop”/”crack”. Yes, it was slightly painful, but after he was done, OMG! did I feel like new! My shoulders all of a sudden felt so light! Unbelievable!

Though my problem is no where near cured, it’s a start! It was one of the most enlightening experiences I’ve had in a while. Thank you thank you thank you Dr. Neal!

And I also get to wear one of these cool thingies;

It’s called Kinesio tape, just like what Kerri Walsh, the Olympic Beach Volleball player was wearing. (Read this article)This is to help stabilize my wrist. I feel so special πŸ™‚

Sorry if my post has too many “!”s. But seriously, hear my out. I have been struggling with this “mystery” pain since June, and it has stopped me completely, from working out my upper body, becasue it would hurt too much. My arm muscles have slowly whithered away from a lack of use. It really has been a daily concern of mine. So I was just so RELIEVED and ELATED to finally know what’s wrong, and find out how to take care of it!Β  It’s like a weight has been lifted off my shoulders (literally!) πŸ™‚

So yeah, maybe I am easily impressed. Becasue when I got home, my housemate who had cooked us an amazing Thanksgiving dinner had made soup using homemade turkey stock! I was quite impressed by his culinary skills. Making broth and stock have been one of those things I have been too intimidated to try. Have YOU ever made any sort of stock?

Yuuuummy soup

Yuuuummy soup

It was hearty and delicious. It made for a perfect din din. πŸ˜‰

I had also planned on working out, but decided against it becasue I didn’t want to “undo” the corrections Dr. Neal had made. I have no idea if it’s even possible to “udo” the pops and cracks, but better safe than sorry right?

And the night got even better casue I went over to James’ to hang out.

A great day indeed.

And tonight isn’t gonna be half bad either. Becasue it’s my favorite night of the year:

THE VICTORIA’S SECRET FASHION SHOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

ummmm… girl crush on Adrianna Lima! πŸ˜‰

Who else is excited to see the glamorous stage, the sexy outfits and the awesome music, and all my girl crushes????!!!! haha

I wish all the bloggies a great Wednesday!

Responses

  1. SO MUCH EXCITEMENT!!!!! I’m especially all over the fact that you now have Larabars!! πŸ™‚

  2. such a funny photo!!! I couldn’t stop laughing for a minute!!!! (And I didn’t even notice your pumples)

    so glad to know that you finally found the cause of your pain and verified that you were not neurotic!!! πŸ˜‰

    Everyone is excited about VS show, I’ve never seen it before. so, I’ll check it out, well, i’ll try. If I fall into sleep before the show begins, I hope you’ll tell me everything about it tomorrow! πŸ™‚

    Enjoy your evening and the show Julia!

  3. YOu’re so cute!!

  4. Um, how cute are you and your wristlet, so funny! Chiro is a godsend, Im going friday. Glad your all realigned and such! Ive made veggie stock, if that counts for anything.. !

  5. almost had a coconut cream larabar today! but i didn’t…
    your picture is super cute.
    good luck with your spinal stuff!

  6. Coconut cream pie is totally my favorite!

  7. can you believe that I wanted to watch the fashion show last night but my boyfriend didnt want to? What a weird guy.

    and i like Miranda Kerr- shes adorable

    Kelly Turner
    http://www.groundedfitness.com

  8. No you’re sooooo cute!

    I love when I get adjustments at yoga. I imagine a chiropractor is heaven!


Leave a Reply

Categories

