Posted by: Santa Barbara Dreaming | December 17, 2008

Cough, cough

But this is a good thing that I’m coughing. I feel like I’m finally being able to cough up some of my congestion now. I took a day and a half off of work becasue I was feeling very much under the weather. I slept for 14 hours yesterday! It was the first time I’ve slept that much since like, ….high school! But it is absolutely amazing what a DRAMATIC difference a SIMPLE act like sleeping can make. I woke up at  (gasp!) 2pm yesterday, and felt soooo much better. Now I amback at work today, and though I’m still not 100%, I do feel much more like myself. I just want to get better so I can get back on track with my 10 K training! I haven’t been able to get off my butt for a while now!

And since I was on my butt all day yesterday, guess what I finally had a chance to do?

Build a Gingerbread House! James got me a gingerbread kit as my Get-well-soon, don’t-be-too-bored-today kit. Seriously, how sweet is he? Thanks James, you totally made my day!

Julias gingerbread house

Julia's gingerbread house

Who knew gingerbread houses are so hard to make? I didn’t realize I had to sit there holding the walls together for a very long time before I could let go and start decorating! haha. And I got so full from eating the candies and frosting that were supposed to go ON the house before they actually made it there, heehee ;)

an edible house

an edible house

It’s not the prettiest of photos, because I had to build it inside the box it came in, so it wouldn’t fall down, and I decided I needed to take photos before the entire house came crashing down. I couldn’t take the risk of waiting for the house to dry and fall apart before I snapped some pictures! But I am glad to report that the house is still standing tall and proud! Quick Question though; are gingerbread houses still edible when they’ve been sitting out for a week?

And more on the food front; I finally found a way to enjoy ricotta cheese. Baking it. Yeah, I know it sounds obvious, but I hadn’t tried it yet. I made a cheesy macaroni bake with leftover pasta and spinach and cheese I had, and it turned out great!

Cheesy goodness

Cheesy goodness. And yes, I did use a cake pan to bake the macaroni in. Hey, a girl's gotta get crafty sometimes! :)

Julia’s Leftover Macaroni Bake
Ingredients: (no measurements; use however much of each ingredient as you like)
Macaroni
Dried Basil
Garlic Salt
Pepper
Shredded Mozzarella Cheese
Grated Parmesan Cheese
Ricotta Cheese
Fresh Spinach, chopped
Can of Pasta sauce (Buy the store brand Canned sauce, it’s even cheaper than the jarred!)

Directions:
1. Preheat oven to 370 degrees F
2. Boil Pasta
3. In a baking dish (hopefully you won’t need to use a cake pa like me, haha) layer pasta, garlic salt, chopped spinach, dried basil, pasta sauce, mozzarella and Parmesan cheese. Repeat.
4. Top with more Parmesan cheese, and some cheddar cheese, or any cheese you like. Bake until cheese is golden brown and bubbly.
5. Eat.

No, its not a cake

No, it's not a cake

So, um….. clearly, I need new/more kitchen utensils! haha. I think that is going to be my Christmas present to myself, along with a set of dishes and cups. Wiat, make that a set of MATCHING plates and dishes. Yeah, that would be awesome! :)

So now that I am starting to feel better, I hope to catch up with all of your lovely blogs! I haven’t really had the energy to do that for the last couple of days, and I must say, I do miss reading up on your good eats and daily lives! So hopefully I will be out and about in the blogworld again soon. In the meantime, I am giong to drink some more tea to stay warm! Happy Humpday!

Responses

  1. Hi Julia! I’ve been reading your blog for a few weeks (got your site address off a comment you posted at Eat Like Me :)) and I just wanted to tell you that your positive attitude and personality make this a joy to read! I’ve added you to my daily “rounds” of blog-reading and am loving your cooking ideas. Keep up the good work!

  2. I’m sure you were realllly sick, esp with that long sleep! Your body probably needed it, Im glad you’re feeling better, and yeaa my g-bread houses usually end up falling, so i just gotta eat all the debris!! :D

  3. 14 hours of sleep is the best medicine!!!!!!!! so glad to know that you’re feeling better.

    James is so adorable and that gingerbread house looks great!!!

    And so happy to know that you made your way to enjoy ricotta! :D

  4. Ahh, hope you get 100%+ better soon!!

    Cute Gingerbread house!!

  5. gingerbread house is SO adorable! :)

  6. Wow your pictures look delicious! I want to eat them! But I can’t because they’re only pictures.
    Let me be the first to say CONGRATULATIONS! you earned it, kiddo! I’m so proud of you.
    To all of you wonderful people out there in blog-land: I know something you don’t know! Hahaha! Maybe she’ll be nice enough and fill y’all in before the suspense gets too unbearable. Hang in there.

  7. I’m glad that you are feeling better Julia. :)

    Unfortunately I have no clue about your gingerbread house question. You are amazing ‘hardworking’ for one sick person. I am simply too lazy to build anything, let alone an edible house :P

  8. Glad you are feeling a little better. I never realized gingerbread houses were so finicky!!! Love the macaroni bake. :D


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

